The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > S10 S15 Luv Blazer

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-02-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
41_rat

Wider steelies for my s10 frame

Hey
New to the boards, and I have a question.

I'm currently building a 1941 chevy pick up on an s10 frame. It currently has really narrow rims and tires. I would say the rims are 15x6" maybe even 5". I need new tires anyway, so I figure I'll get wider wheels. I have the red steel rims with the small moon center caps. I would like to maintain this look but with a more aggressive stance. Something like a 16x8 all around. Where can I find steel rims for my truck? Also what specs do they have to be. I have read some threads about back spacing, and I just want to make sure I buy the right size first time around. I am relatively new to the Gm building game and I'm learning more and more every day. I believe my s10 frame is a mid to late 80s frame.

Also if someone could tell me where to find the serial number and how I can find what year my frame actually is that would be great help.
Thanks in advance
Posted via Mobile Device
41_rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:50 PM   #2
jhaymon

Re: Wider steelies for my s10 frame

2wd s-10 and Sonoma (other than extreme or zq8)" came with 15x8.5 aluminum or 15x7 steel with a 0 offset (4" backspace) with a 5 on 4 3/4 or 120.65mm lug pattern. a 16X8 with -6 to a +10mm offset is very doable. and thats with the limitations of an s-10 body. i run a 10x16 with a 6" backspace on the back and 8.5x16 with a 5" on front on the back on little s-10 with no issues. I physically lowered mine 3" from factory in the front and im sure that v8 drops it at at-least another inch so you should be fine.