The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-16-2019, 02:30 PM   #1
Chris65GMC

1975 Squarebody Identification

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to squarebody's and I recently bought a 75' that is a hodgepodge of parts. The PO told me that the Cab was put on a different frame etc.

What are the best identifiers to Identify what year's this truck is?

Here is what I know.

The cab does not have drip rails and has the early style front clip on it (looks to be 75), The bed has the gas tank on the drivers side and has the fill cover lid (80's style). The cab notes Cheyenne and has a "camper special sticker" but VIN matches a shortbed (can you get a short bed camper special?). Are there any key identifiers to figure out the frame / driveline?

I'm not trying to build a numbers matching truck so the details are not concerning, I'm just trying to figure out what I have mostly so I don't order 75' suspension parts if I should be looking for 83' parts etc. engine and trans are also non-matching so I'm not worried about that.

Thanks for all help!
Chris
Old 04-16-2019, 05:24 PM   #2
Bandit130

Re: 1975 Squarebody Identification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris65GMC View Post
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to squarebody's and I recently bought a 75' that is a hodgepodge of parts. The PO told me that the Cab was put on a different frame etc.

What are the best identifiers to Identify what year's this truck is?

Here is what I know.