The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Welcome and Discussion > General Discussion

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-02-2020, 02:27 PM   #1
muddstir

Thinking about South Carolina

I've been wanting to move for awhile now, somewhere south where the weather is warmer and winter is shorter. I think the wife is finally onboard with it her only stipulation is it must be in driving distance of a beach and she don't want Florida.
So I zoomed out on Google maps then zoomed in to where I thought would be a nice location to live. Well that just happens to be South Carolina.

So I'd like to get some of your guys and gals input on that state. Pros - cons , like it or not; really any info or opinions.
The wife is a respiratory therapist and says she can get a job anywhere. Me - I'm a cnc machine operator / sheet metal fabricator but can do construction and really any other manual labor.
We would be looking at more inland (kinda center of the state) than the shoreline.

Thanks
muddstir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 02:54 PM   #2
67ChevyRedneck
Hittin E-Z Street on Mud Tires

Re: Thinking about South Carolina

Moved here from NY in 1999. You literally could not pay me to move back north.

You're going to take pay cuts, but it's all relative, we have some of the lowest property taxes and cost of living in the country.

I hope you like heat, cause it's hot. It's typically in the 80's in April/May, 90's from June through august, 80's in September, and it's all high humidity. We have beautiful spring/fall weather for like 3 weeks a year

Don't move to the center of the state, it's freaking hot as balls there. It's in a giant sun soaking valley or something. I'd look at what's call the "upstate". Greenville, Spartanburg, Easley. 3.5-4 hours from myrtle/charleston.
1968 Pontiac Firebird: Project Fire Chicken!