The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-04-2017, 12:25 PM   #1
Keystone_Hate

The "I've never done this before" build.

Here we go, I've never taken on an endeavor this large before. I've built a few motorcycles and I'm an aircraft mechanic in the Air Force so I am confident in my mechanical abilities. I got a steal on this '72 longbed out of eastern Colorado. The truck has a really solid frame and body. The 250 straight six is pretty tired and has some pretty gnarly blow by that's coming out the rocker cover breather. I don't have much of a game plan right now as I just got the truck two days ago. I've been poking around and am pretty happy with its condition, overall. I ripped the floor mats and seat out last night to look at the floors and again, I think I'm starting off better than most. This is gonna be a rolling project and I'm gonna have a lot of questions. I'm not new to forums though so I will search my hardest before I ask some newbie stuff and piss everyone off. Here's Old Blue as she sits right now.
Attached Images

Keystone_Hate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 12:50 PM   #2
Will Rotten

Re: The "I've never done this before" build.

Looks great. You're way better off than I am. I have very little background with mechanics on cars and I have way more rust to deal with. Best of luck!
Will Rotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 08:37 PM   #3
Becker67

Great looking truck. It looks pretty solid will be a great project. I will be happy to answer any questions you have.
71 cheyenne super swb 454/700r4 4/6drop tach,tilt,a/c,bucket seats,speed warning
96 gmc swb
Becker67 is offline   Reply With Quote