The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-15-2014, 11:19 PM   #1
ArthurD

OBS Chevy 1500 DIY lift? Been done?

So here is my idea. I can't find it anywhere but I may just been blind and cant find it online. I got a 1995 k1500, its a nice clean truck and all and I love it. But she isn't tall enough. I am looking for about 5-6 inches of lift, but the $1200 price tag hurts a lot. I have been looking at all the kits and the installation pictures and it all seems like a bunch of plasma cut steel that is put together and welded. just to drop the front suspension.
now before everyone goes crazy on this here also, I am a machinist and have a full speed shop with every machine and tool I could need to make a kit. this cant be harder than a strait axle swap, I am looking for someone who has maybe done this before.
Thanks!

I am a Machinist.
ArthurD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 12:35 AM   #2
kwmech

Re: OBS Chevy 1500 DIY lift? Been done?

You would be better off in the long run stepping up to a straight axle if you want to gain that much lift. Dropping the front cradle on an IFS just creates a whole new set of problems
kwmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 02:52 AM   #3
andrewmp6