The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Tools, Shops and Shop Safety

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-02-2010, 01:10 PM   #1
greystoke

rpm speed for cutting

ok guys,

I'm basically new to working with sheet metal. This morning I was cutting down a panel to fit, I had a cutoff wheel mounted on a makita peanut angle grinder. This thing spins at 11,000rpm and just ate up the cutoff wheel I was using. It was also difficult to control. So my question is what are you guys using? Variable speed? if so what speed setting? Are all cutoff discs created equal? What are the best? Thanks for any help you can give.

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=305629
greystoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:22 PM   #2
crushermechanic

Re: rpm speed for cutting

all wheels are not equal. you get what you pay for. the dewalt stainless cutting wheels are the best i have found at a store. i use sait or kronaflex brand that can be found at a welding supply house. be ready to pay for the good ones but they last 3-4 times as long. run the grinder wide open and get a wheel rated at a higher rpm than your grinder.
crushermechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
chris mc bride

probaly the wheel. I agree sometimes cheap is just that. As for rpm usually only a issue when cutting with metal blades and its not a one answer thing. the type metal your cutting and what your cutting with.example ss require less speed than a piece of mild steel.
Look for a metal working book or fabrication at any good book store.
chris mc bride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:33 PM   #4
cableguy0