The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-22-2017, 03:57 PM   #1
drew8mc

For all you engine guys

I'm a newbie at wrenching, so I am trying to learn as much as possible.

I'm trying to diagnose a poor idle in my 327. Below is a video of the vacuum gauge coming directly off the manifold. From the verbal descriptions, it sounds like this is a vacuum leak. I have checked all over the carb gasket, manifold gasket, throttle body, and all hoses. I took off all hoses and inspected each one, even recut the ends. I've sprayed the area over and over with carb cleaner and I can't find any leaks. I hear no hissing sounds.

https://goo.gl/photos/LsXgjzLkKYtYZhP6A

The next step is to check my timing, but my vacuum is so low, I'm guessing this is not a timing issue. Should I just pull the manifold and reseal it? It looks to be sealed all along the edge with silicone or some other sealant. I'd love to know what all you guys think.
drew8mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 04:15 PM   #2
notsolo

Re: For all you engine guys

Power brake booster?...Distributer shaft wable?
notsolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 04:24 PM   #3
drew8mc

The vacuum gauge is hooked up to the brake booster line, so it isn't active. I just went and checked the distributor shaft. It is supper solid with no play at all.
Old 04-22-2017, 04:28 PM   #4
Boog
laying low

Maybe this vacuum tuning chart will help.
Attached Images

91 Chevy sportside, Tahoe, Yukon & GMC Crewcab All GM..'nuff said.

I stand for the flag and kneel at the cross
Boog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 04:40 PM   #5
geezer#99

Check and set your initial timing at 14 degrees first. If that doesn't change it much then you might need to do the intake gaskets.