The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-04-2018, 09:46 PM   #1
mplex2000

Mind checking my pattern?

Hey guys, haven't been active online in a long time so I feel a bit guilty but this is only my second time to do a full diff and gear swap, and it's my first time by myself and on a Chevy

I'm installing a Yukon posi and 3.73 r&p, all new bearings and what not as well. Vehicle in a 79 Big 10 with a 12 bolt truck axle, of course which had the original open diff and 3.09 gears.

I honed out the original pinion bearing for setting pinion depth. Went with the recommended .026 for a new 3.73 gear set. Installed the pinion with the honed out original and then the new bearing on the outer. I bought a solid spacer kit in lieu of using the crush washer, so I put the spacer in as well with no shims while measring preload. Measure at 10 in lbs of preload.

Installed the carrier with new shims roughly the same thickness as the originals. Pattern looked pretty good (to me). Checked backlash which came up about .018. Tossed a .012 shim on the left side and now backlash looks to be about .075. Re-painted the compound and I feel like it looks good but it seems to good to be true. I was expecting to be in the garage for many hours before getting to this point

If any of you gear pros could take a look and let me know what you think I'd greatly appreciate it. I guess if this is good, I just need to go press on the new pinion bearing and then set preload with the spacer shims, re-install and torque the carrier, re-check the pattern and call it good?
Attached Images

mplex2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 08:21 AM   #2
PGSigns

Re: Mind checking my pattern?