The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2018, 08:05 AM   #1
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
No idle...need help

I changed the ignition module because there was no fire. Now it starts but wont idle. Please help....
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 11:14 AM   #2
68 P.O.S.
Slow Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: University Place, WA
Posts: 821
Re: No idle...need help

Is it only at idle, or will it run if you hold your foot on the gas? It could be timing, carb, distributor, vacuum leak, fuel restriction, or a combo of everything. Please give us a lot more background info on your truck...including any work done to it.
__________________
72 C10 lwb fleetside -stock 350/350 combo
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 01:28 PM   #3
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

I have a 1987 r30 with 87000 original km. The only
Electronic thing changed was the ignition module which i did a few weeks ago. The truck starts and run as long as revs are up. Return to idle and it stalls. Ir was running fine. I had not used it for several weeks. It had no fire when i went to it. Changing the ignition mudule made it start right away but tgat was when the idle issue came up.
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 03:06 PM   #4
HO455
Registered User
 
HO455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,344
Re: No idle...need help

Going with my proven theory of "Always go back to the last thing you messed with...). I would check the timing first, then look for a vacuum leak if that doesn't solve the problem.
__________________
Thanks to Bob and Jeanie and everyone else at Superior Performance for all their great help.
1967 Burban the WMB,1991 S(stink)-10 Blazer,1969 GTO, 1970 Javelin, 1952 F3 Ford 4X4, 29 Model A, 72 Firebird. 85 Alfa Romeo
If it breaks I didn't want it in the first place
The WMB http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=698377
HO455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 04:06 PM   #5
68 P.O.S.
Slow Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: University Place, WA
Posts: 821
Re: No idle...need help

x2, I agree with HO455

Your problem could be a couple things, however, always start with timing as it's essentially your engine's baseline. If timing isn't set correctly from the get go, nothing else will be correct either. I obviously don't know your skill level, so not trying to talk down to you, but do you know what the timing numbers are to set it at and do you know what your engine is currently at? After checking timing, I too would move on to looking for vacuum leaks. Check every hose for proper connection, damage, and wear. Vac leaks can be a real pain and make your engine run like crap.
__________________
72 C10 lwb fleetside -stock 350/350 combo
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 04:13 PM   #6
Fbks_Cruiser
Land of the Midnight Sun
 
Fbks_Cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 71
Re: No idle...need help

I agree. Is it possible that while poking around to swap the ignition module you may have inadvertently disconnected a vacuum line that didn't get hooked back up?

Stock air cleaner? Maybe one of the vacuum lines connected to it for the hot-air door didn't get hooked back up correctly after you reinstalled it? Vacuum line to the distributor advance pulled off?
__________________
1972 GMC K2500

Matt
Fbks_Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 04:45 PM   #7
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

I cant see timing being the issue since i have been driving this truck for years. A vacuum line might be the issue. Ill check those. Thanks
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 04:52 PM   #8
68 P.O.S.
Slow Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: University Place, WA
Posts: 821
Re: No idle...need help

Have you checked the timing tho?
__________________
72 C10 lwb fleetside -stock 350/350 combo
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 07:08 PM   #9
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

I have not checked the timing. Ill do that also.
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 07:16 PM   #10
68 P.O.S.
Slow Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: University Place, WA
Posts: 821
Re: No idle...need help

You should, off timing can make your engine do all kinds of wonky things....like disguise itself as a carb problem. Let us know what it's set at.
__________________
72 C10 lwb fleetside -stock 350/350 combo
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 09:47 PM   #11
HO455
Registered User
 
HO455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,344
Re: No idle...need help

I should double check. The ignition module that you replaced was on an HEI? Are all the plug wires on the correct posts? Are you sure there is absolutely no chance that the distributor turned during the replacement process? Please don't take these questions the wrong way I just want you back on the road and not wasting time like I have done so many times learning lessons the hard way. I drove my Burban about 1500 miles with the old 305 and it wasn't until I swapped the distributor to the new engine did I find out #4 and #7 plug wires were swapped. No wonder it was gutless.
__________________
Thanks to Bob and Jeanie and everyone else at Superior Performance for all their great help.
1967 Burban the WMB,1991 S(stink)-10 Blazer,1969 GTO, 1970 Javelin, 1952 F3 Ford 4X4, 29 Model A, 72 Firebird. 85 Alfa Romeo
If it breaks I didn't want it in the first place
The WMB http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=698377
HO455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 12:03 AM   #12
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Not HEI. The coil is beside the dis cap.

I labled the wires and posts before removing them then double checked placement. The rotor was removed to replace the module.
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 09:26 AM   #13
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,001
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrie2777 View Post
Not HEI. The coil is beside the dis cap.

I labled the wires and posts before removing them then double checked placement. The rotor was removed to replace the module.

What exactly did you change?
We need pics to know exactly what you have.

Last edited by geezer#99; 10-19-2018 at 10:35 AM.
geezer#99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 10:30 AM   #14
68is4me
Senior Member
 
68is4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: lakefield,mn
Posts: 466
Re: No idle...need help

I would assume that it is a stock fuel injected motor. If it idled fine before the module was replace then go back and retrace your steps. Those older fuel injected motors might require an idle relearn and timing relearn.
__________________
68 c10 swb stepper
68 c10 swb stepper
67 c10 lwb
06 gmc duramax
68is4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 10:45 AM   #15
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Ran fine, idled fine prior to module change. My mechanic friend says I need to drive it for 10 -15 minutes for it to relearn. Might have time today to try that simple solution.
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 12:26 PM   #16
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post
What exactly did you change?
We need pics to know exactly what you have.
How do i post photo here?

Now battery seems to be going dead .
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 12:53 PM   #17
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,001
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrie2777 View Post
How do i post photo here?

Now battery seems to be going dead .
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=712252
geezer#99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:22 PM   #18
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Photo of carb and distributor cap on r30 350cu in
Attached Images
 
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 01:54 PM   #19
jdbas71
Registered User
 
jdbas71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Russell,Ks
Posts: 22
Re: No idle...need help

If you didn't pull or loosen the distributor to change module than timing shouldn't have changed from where it was.

Last edited by jdbas71; 10-20-2018 at 02:00 PM.
jdbas71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:26 PM   #20
68 P.O.S.
Slow Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: University Place, WA
Posts: 821
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbas71 View Post
If you didn't pull or loosen the distributor to change module than timing shouldn't have changed from where it was.
Assuming timing was correct to begin with.
__________________
72 C10 lwb fleetside -stock 350/350 combo
68 P.O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 04:39 PM   #21
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbas71 View Post
If you didn't pull or loosen the distributor to change module than timing shouldn't have changed from where it was.
Exactly my thoughts. I think until i guve it a "learning" ride ill wait before changing more components.
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 04:51 PM   #22
HO455
Registered User
 
HO455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,344
Re: No idle...need help

If your engine is anything like my 91 4.3 those plastic vacuum lines for the tranny control and PVC are FRAGILE at this point in time. Give them a good going over. I found a hole in my PVC hose on the bottom of the 90* out of the carb. Gave me fits for a couple of hours one day.
__________________
Thanks to Bob and Jeanie and everyone else at Superior Performance for all their great help.
1967 Burban the WMB,1991 S(stink)-10 Blazer,1969 GTO, 1970 Javelin, 1952 F3 Ford 4X4, 29 Model A, 72 Firebird. 85 Alfa Romeo
If it breaks I didn't want it in the first place
The WMB http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=698377
HO455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 05:53 PM   #23
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by HO455 View Post
If your engine is anything like my 91 4.3 those plastic vacuum lines for the tranny control and PVC are FRAGILE at this point in time. Give them a good going over. I found a hole in my PVC hose on the bottom of the 90* out of the carb. Gave me fits for a couple of hours one day.
Would that effect the idle?
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 06:08 PM   #24
HO455
Registered User
 
HO455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 4,344
Re: No idle...need help

Yes it would. Your TBI unit won't be able to compensate for air entering into the intake from anywhere but through the throttle body. A leak makes the idle mixture lean. You may have a combination of a vacuum leak and the computer wanting to relearn that is causing your issue. You should be able to find a leak by spraying carb cleaner on the hoses when it is running and listening for a change in the engine speed. There are numerous videos out there on this if you are not familiar with the process.
Good luck.
__________________
Thanks to Bob and Jeanie and everyone else at Superior Performance for all their great help.
1967 Burban the WMB,1991 S(stink)-10 Blazer,1969 GTO, 1970 Javelin, 1952 F3 Ford 4X4, 29 Model A, 72 Firebird. 85 Alfa Romeo
If it breaks I didn't want it in the first place
The WMB http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=698377
HO455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 07:43 PM   #25
barrie2777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arundel,quebec
Posts: 27
Re: No idle...need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by HO455 View Post
Yes it would. Your TBI unit won't be able to compensate for air entering into the intake from anywhere but through the throttle body. A leak makes the idle mixture lean. You may have a combination of a vacuum leak and the computer wanting to relearn that is causing your issue. You should be able to find a leak by spraying carb cleaner on the hoses when it is running and listening for a change in the engine speed. There are numerous videos out there on this if you are not familiar with the process.
Good luck.
Something i noticed today...the gasket on the bottom of the ring around the carb is not there anymore but is a pile of pieces sitting near the valve cover. Could the absence of this gasket cause the problem?
barrie2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com