The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2019, 09:37 AM   #976
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoh View Post
the heater return line runs to the factory s10 rad, so its clear why you are wondering what to do when you dont use that piece. but dont fret, there is a plug on the water pump? maybe its the thermostat housing, I dont remember but you take out that plug, its a big allen wrench to take it out, and install a barbed fitting and there you go.

I had to do it on my 1991 s10 4.3, and I cant find the picture because of "photosuckit", but thats exactly what I did.
oh, are you wanting to convert? the plug is in the wp. just pull it and replace want a 1/2" nipple.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 11:38 AM   #977
roaburto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 3
Re: S10 Swap how to

Joedoh I appreciate the information. I'll take a good look at the water pump and thermostat housing.

Skymangs, I read a lot about the radiator in this thread and took your advice on an aftermarket radiator with appropriate dimensions. I can't imagine the carnage that would result from trying to get a stock S10 radiator into the AD truck.

Thanks for the help!
roaburto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 12:34 PM   #978
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

you'd be surprised, some people will try anything to save a buck!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 03:54 PM   #979
Clay54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 266
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
you'd be surprised, some people will try anything to save a buck!
Hey skymangs, that's not fair. There may be a part cost savings by using the S10 radiator, but, there is a labor cost of modifying the front inner fenders and building the standoff to hold the radiator to make it fit. I personally don't see that as trying to save a buck. Everyone may not want to do that, and that is OK, but I for one think it's a great idea and will be using the S10 radiator when and if I can get started on my build. Clay
__________________
54 Chevy 5 window/89 S10 swap(not yet started)

84 Chevy Suburban 6.2 diesel

04 Chevy Crew cab long bed Duramax
Clay54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 04:44 PM   #980
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 5,690
Re: S10 Swap how to

haha I use the s10 radiator on every build, it doesnt have anything to do with saving a buck because most times I will buy a NEW S10 radiator that costs more than the speedway radiator. I do it because:

1. (this is the big one for me) the speedway radiator lower outlet is cocked towards the crank pulley, that combined with the height the speedway rad sits at means I would need an electric fan, the engine fan would cut the lower hose in half using the speedway rad. I think the reliability of an aftermarket electric fan system is suspect, using the clutch mechanical fans is more reliable to me.

2. the stock s10 rad has a trans cooler already set up to take the lines from the 4l60e. knowing the probability of a system failure goes UP the more you touch the system, I like being able to plug the trans cooler in with no added unions. the speedway rad has no trans cooler, so you will need an external trans cooler (wait till you see how people save a buck on trans coolers!) although on the last one I did splice in some extensions.

3. the overall width is wider than the AD core support BUT the core width is almost the same size as the opening.

4. it is a cross flow, so I can use the stock expansion system. (the speedway is a cross flow too)


the carnage is almost nothing of note, I trim out two pockets, one on each side for the end tanks, and bend up some sheetmetal to close the pockets back in, then put a piece on the bottom that has holes for the stock rad mount bushings. the stock S10 AC condenser also fits, and the hood shuts perfectly. I dont solid mount my front clip, I use outrigger mounts to the AD core support on stock S10 bushings, so I am in the same area welding anyway.

its not a cost savings thing, its a better solution for my 4.3 trucks. potato potatto, to each his own.


roaburto, I found the plug I took out of my 91 today, in the drawer of my toolbox.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

New Project! BICKLE


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 12:41 AM   #981
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

no offence meant gentlemen. I prefer to do mine differently. I think for the novice the universal is easier and IMHO looks cleaner,
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 12:48 PM   #982
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 5,690
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
no offence meant gentlemen. I prefer to do mine differently. I think for the novice the universal is easier and IMHO looks cleaner,

none taken, lots of ways to do this and you are definitely a pioneer of putting these together.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

New Project! BICKLE


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 08:13 PM   #983
roaburto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 3
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoh View Post
the heater return line runs to the factory s10 rad, so its clear why you are wondering what to do when you dont use that piece. but dont fret, there is a plug on the water pump? maybe its the thermostat housing, I dont remember but you take out that plug, its a big allen wrench to take it out, and install a barbed fitting and there you go.

I had to do it on my 1991 s10 4.3, and I cant find the picture because of "photosuckit", but thats exactly what I did.

I finally got a chance to work on the truck. That plug was on the top of the water pump just like you said. I can check that off my list.

Thanks so much.
roaburto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 03:55 PM   #984
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoh View Post
none taken, lots of ways to do this and you are definitely a pioneer of putting these together.

you Sir, have definitely contributed more than your fair share to this thread!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:33 PM   #985
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

I am going to try to appeal to everyones generous side. Help us have a great 2020! We really need this equipment! Every donation helps regardless of size. You know I’m crazy about these trucks. Help me out.

https://www.gofundme.com/f/help-ole-...cp+share-sheet
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 02:55 PM   #986
Black93GT
Registered User
 
Black93GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 110
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoh View Post
haha I use the s10 radiator on every build, it doesnt have anything to do with saving a buck because most times I will buy a NEW S10 radiator that costs more than the speedway radiator. I do it because:

1. (this is the big one for me) the speedway radiator lower outlet is cocked towards the crank pulley.....
This was the exact thing I found when unboxing the speedway radiator. My issue was the belt for the passenger side alternator.

The quick fix was to cut off the outlet and reweld it to give just enough clearance.
__________________
'49 3600 build
SBC 350, a T-5 and some "patina".
Black93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 04:31 PM   #987
Wyattdog2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Puyallup, wa
Posts: 20
Re: S10 Swap how to

Anyone use flowtech gm universal L.S. stainless headers with the S10 frame? Part # 42511575flt.
Wyattdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 01:20 AM   #988
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 5,690
Re: S10 Swap how to

with all the variations in how people mount the body (4-6" off the frame) and where they mount the engine (high, low, forward, back) you might just have to try them yourself and report how they fit.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

New Project! BICKLE


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 04:04 PM   #989
Black93GT
Registered User
 
Black93GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 110
Re: S10 Swap how to

They look like they’ll fit tight to the block so it should work.

Expect to work with how your motor sits in the engine bay.
I had to modify my mounts a few times adjusting the motor height and setback to have the right fan/distributor/header clearances. It’s a balancing act so don’t get frustrated when it doesn’t fit the first time.
__________________
'49 3600 build
SBC 350, a T-5 and some "patina".
Black93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:25 PM   #990
kehstr
Registered User
 
kehstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 687
Re: S10 Swap how to

for those that have done the s10 swap, and did an LS also. Would a set of off the shelf s10 LS conversion mounts work?
__________________
72 GMC highlander nicknamed by my 6-year-old brother "stripes"
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s....php?p=7378180
kehstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:19 PM   #991
Father&son56project
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grey County Ontario
Posts: 16
Re: S10 Swap how to

Iím confused about the S10 body bushings and am hoping that someone can help me out. I need to buy the bushings for the cab only, and was going to order the Dorman stock replacement bushings model 924-181. The description says these will fit ďbody positions 2 and 3Ē which I assume means the cab bushings ( front and rear), as the bushings for the radiator cradle are clearly different. My donor S10 is a 1996 regular cab long box. When I removed the old cab bushings, I saw that the front cab mount & bushing is different from the rear cab mount & bushing. Here is what I have on my truck.


This is the front cab mount and bushing. The cab mount has a fairly large steel insert tube that encases the bushing, and the bushing diameter is about 1 ĺ inch (which fits the 2 inch holes I cut in my custom mounts with a bit of wiggle room).




This is the rear cab mount and bushing. The mount simply has a round hole in it (no steel tube), and the bushing diameter is a fair bit smaller ( way too small for the 2 inch hole I cut in my custom mounts).





Perhaps I am missing something obvious (in which case I apologize in advance), but can anyone explain to me whatís going on?
Father&son56project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:08 PM   #992
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 5,690
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by kehstr View Post
for those that have done the s10 swap, and did an LS also. Would a set of off the shelf s10 LS conversion mounts work?
they should, if they are the adjustable type. I havent done an LS but I have done a few s10 swaps and with the 4.3 the engine needs to move back about 7 inches, the SBC needs to move back about 4 inches. I dont know where the LS engine side mounts are in respect to the block (or in respect to either the 4.3 or SBC) but I will bet that if the LS needs to move forward in an S10 engine bay it will need to move back in the AD bay, so getting some conversion mounts with some wiggle room in them is what you need to do.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Father&son56project View Post
Perhaps I am missing something obvious (in which case I apologize in advance), but can anyone explain to me what’s going on?

dont apologize, and dont worry about it being smaller diameter, as long as the outer diameter is bigger than the hole you cut it will not move around.

this is the same way people feel about lug nuts, the clamping force is what keeps a hub and wheel together, not (just) the lug seat.

so in this case, the sideways forces are resisted by the friction of the flat surfaces together, clamped with both the weight of the cab and the through bolt. I actually cut my holes oversize too and use that fudge room to move a cab around and get it perfect on the frame.
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

New Project! BICKLE


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:20 PM   #993
skymangs
Ole Sarge www.olesargecustoms
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 1,837
Re: S10 Swap how to

In my experience all 4 should be the steel bushing. Thatís what Iíve always used. Are you building a 50 and older or a 51 and later? Because the 51 and later requires core support bushings in the rear.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:47 AM   #994
Father&son56project
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grey County Ontario
Posts: 16
Re: S10 Swap how to

Joedoh, thanks! Skymangs, my build is the '46 Fargo. I had always assumed that all 4 factory cab bushings would be the same as the websites for ordering new ones do not differentiate between front and rear cab mounts. They simply say "fits body positions 2 and 3". I was surprised when I finally examined the ones that came with my truck and realized they were different. I suppose I will just order 4 of the the Dorman 924-181 and hope for the best. Thanks!
Father&son56project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:11 PM   #995
joedoh
Senior Member
 
joedoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Doodah Kansas
Posts: 5,690
Re: S10 Swap how to

the upper steels will fit any of the mounts
__________________
the mass of men live lives of quiet desperation

New Project! BICKLE


if there is a problem, I can have it.
joedoh is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com