The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-02-2011, 08:57 AM   #1
RAS C-10

Talking my first post/pics

Whats going on guys, like everyone else I just wanted to show off my newest plaything. Its a 1970 C10 swb, with a 250 Inline 6 with a TH350. The only thing she is missing is a front bumper and Tailgate!
no power brakes or steering Im wanting to take it back to original as possible aside from some luxuries and the motor (was a 307 but Im diggin to 250) and the paint scheme was blue but kinda liking the orange and white!
Im just starting out but,Ive already collected some parts for my baby!

Need to install
Hei Distributor
Getting some power steering brackets from Ebay ( heavy research to be sure they were the right ones)
Installed
locks and ignition switch to matching set
new driver side door latch

Currently
Tackling the various leaks from the Tranny

Couple of questions for anyone who can answer that is.

1)On the 5th picture Im not sure what the blue piece is near the shift linkage? I dont know what it is nor how i would go about fixing it!

2) how hard is it to change the shift linkage seal? Im not terribly comfortable with working on transmissions

3) ive read on here that I can buy the power steering gear and pump at a local parts store, my question is, should I be looking for pumps and gears for my V6 or does it matter? as long as it works with what I have?

4)if my outer rocker panels are eat up with rust should I just go ahead and buy the inner panels as well , Im going to have the body work done at a shop so I wanted to know if I should get the inners as well to save time?
Attached Images

Old 09-02-2011, 10:05 AM   #2
tattoed71