The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-06-2013, 11:08 PM   #1
trav_rich

76 2wd to 77 4wd Swap and Resto

I am hoping to restore my wifes 1977 longbed 4x4 chevy. The body (including cab) are probably rusted beyond hope. I have acquired a 76 2wd longbed that has been repainted but is in overall pretty good condition. I want to swap all 76 body parts including cab to the 77. Then do a repaint and restoration. I have no body experience but a decent mechanical background.

Any suggestions or comments on feasibility would be appreciated.

Hope to post pics of both trucks tomorrow to show what I am working with.
trav_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 05:42 PM   #2
trav_rich

Re: 76 2wd to 77 4wd Swap and Resto

Here are pics of the donor truck. Looks great from a distance, but close inspection reveals paint is not original. No visible rust in rear bedside but there is an are where magnet wont stick with small crack forming.
Attached Images

trav_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:28 AM   #3
1Cobra427

probably get loads of good parts from this one though!
1Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:14 PM   #4
Big Tex

Trav Rich-