The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 09:26 PM   #1
AnobleL74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 97
does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

When i run my A/C (classic Air) the terminal on back of my Ignition switch get very hot to touch.
I notice my a/c switch get power from what appears to be a heavy gauge wire from the fuse box.
Do A/C units need a separate Relay kit?
thanks
Allan
AnobleL74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 09:45 PM   #2
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 7,088
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Most aftermarket ac systems do have a relay. I have an Old Aitlr Products system and it has one. I also do everything I can to avoid pumping modern accessories through my trucks switches or fuse block. Headlights are an example.

Good luck!
__________________
Clyde65

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:12 AM   #3
AnobleL74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 97
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clyde65 View Post
Most aftermarket ac systems do have a relay. I have an Old Aitlr Products system and it has one. I also do everything I can to avoid pumping modern accessories through my trucks switches or fuse block. Headlights are an example.

Good luck!
thanks i will see about getting a relay
AnobleL74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 09:06 AM   #4
AnobleL74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 97
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

I added a painless relay kit to my radiator coolant fan, this seems to have fixed my problem.
Will keep an eye on it, may add a A/C blower relay kit later, i think i can use the same painless coolant fan kit
AnobleL74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 10:11 PM   #5
AnobleL74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 97
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnobleL74 View Post
I added a painless relay kit to my radiator coolant fan, this seems to have fixed my problem.
Will keep an eye on it, may add a A/C blower relay kit later, i think i can use the same painless coolant fan kit
added the relay for my A/C today , ignition switch now cool to touch. i think this is going to take care of the problem.
AnobleL74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 10:18 PM   #6
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 7,088
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Outstanding!
__________________
Clyde65

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 10:14 AM   #7
AnobleL74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 97
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnobleL74 View Post
I added a painless relay kit to my radiator coolant fan, this seems to have fixed my problem.
Will keep an eye on it, may add a A/C blower relay kit later, i think i can use the same painless coolant fan kit
added thermostat switch to radiator fan, love this , much better than 100% on
AnobleL74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 10:47 PM   #8
luvbowties
Registered User
 
luvbowties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: southeasternfoothillsofusa
Posts: 1,509
Wink Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

IMO, we guys would be smart to keep a 'few' relays lying around. Standard in their build and wiring, buying a few at one time is a cheap investment, and before you know it, you are out of them and need to order more. I like to get caught up into sensible habits that we don't ever have to 'break'.
sam
luvbowties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 09:00 AM   #9
The Rocknrod
Senior Member
 
The Rocknrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: China Spring, TX
Posts: 1,798
Re: does A/C need a relay? ignition switch HOT to touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvbowties View Post
... a cheap investment, ...sensible habits ...
Hasnt been a good match with my car/truck hobby.
The Rocknrod is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com