The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-19-2003, 05:43 PM   #1
Gixxerboy

newbie here, need lowering help

hey everyone,
I am new to the scene and have got my grandpa's truck given to me, a 1970 GMC.

as of right now it's all stock and I have been looking into lowering it.

I was thinking just plain springs, and spindles to get around 5 inches, but it's just not enough.

If I buy a air ride kit and install it, just the way it comes

1)how many inches can it lower my truck??

2)what all would be needed to make the body touch the ground??

3)what is C-notch?

4)what is a four link setup supposed to accomplish? is it needed?

5)body drop required?

I am new to the truck scene, and the air ride setups, please help, and help is appreciated.

thanks again
James
Gixxerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 07:09 PM   #2
phantom dually
Project92 SWB stepside

If you want the ultimate low skip the BS and get a body drop. You will need a set of drop spindles and I would suggest a 4 link. The 4 link setup is originally a race car type setup. They are great for traction as the pinion angle does not change once it is set. This may not mean alot to you but it will one day. Body drop can be done several diff ways. You can do a stock floor drop or you can do a frame drop. Stock floor drop requires the floor of the truck to be cut and moved upwards into the cab. The frame drop requires the frame to be cut and reworked to set the front clip higher into the body. Either way you go with a body drop the bed has to be cut into and moved up. If I could do it all over I would body drop. Body drop will run you around $1500-$2500 depending upon who does it and what rear suspension technique you choose. Its not cheap BUT its LOW!!!!!