The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 08:17 PM   #1
cppursell
Registered User
 
cppursell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 140
Put TH400 back in, won't shift

Well, I've been creating several threads with different issues of my friends' '63 C10. It started with putting a new engine in (which is running great now, woohoo). When attaching the transmission he broke the pump, which he replaced and now the car moves, but: It won't shift out of first gear! My friend has an idea that the solenoid on the transmission for the electric kick-down might be causing it, but I haven't a clue. Can you pros help?

Thanks!
cppursell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
69 longhorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: rock island,il,usa
Posts: 5,382
Re: Put TH400 back in, won't shift

do you have the vacumn line hooked up to the modulator?
__________________
http://community.webshots.com/user/hotrodhorn
69 longhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 08:54 PM   #3
cppursell
Registered User
 
cppursell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 140
Re: Put TH400 back in, won't shift

Yessir, he reports his vaccum is plugged in correctly to the intake manifold, and there is a good suction. I suspected this myself as possibly being a problem. Maybe his modulator is bad?
cppursell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:10 PM   #4
68 TT
Still plays with trucks
 
68 TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 3,526
Re: Put TH400 back in, won't shift

Quote:
Originally Posted by cppursell View Post
Yessir, he reports his vaccum is plugged in correctly to the intake manifold, and there is a good suction. I suspected this myself as possibly being a problem. Maybe his modulator is bad?
The kick down circuit probably wouldn't keep it from shifting. I would bet you are correct and the vacuum modulator is bad or damaged and leaking vacuum. Without it functioning the trans will not shift out of first gear.
__________________
miSSed opportunity - ground up creation of an AWD 1994 454 SS that never was http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=795577
69 C10 shortbed stepside 400 small block - built like what a super sport truck could have been
69 K20 lwb TBI 350 4L60E NP208 14-bolt Dana-44 w/disc
68 Camaro SS / RS 500hp 439 inch roller cam big block 4L80E
79 Malibu TPI 350 4L60 w/ Z28 steering & sway bars
68 TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:10 AM   #5
cppursell
Registered User
 
cppursell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 140
Re: Put TH400 back in, won't shift

Okay I will let him know. Replacing the modulator is cheap anyway and wouldn't hurt.
cppursell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:50 PM   #6
raycow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 2,454
Re: Put TH400 back in, won't shift

If the modulator doesn't do it, you could look at the governor next. The symptoms are about right, but I have no clue how there could be any connection with a damaged pump. A more likely possibility might be that a small piece of debris from the pump somehow got into the valve body.

Ray
__________________
Live more responsibly. Eat lower on the food chain. Eat vegetarians.
raycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1st, c10, shift, th400, truck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2020 67-72chevytrucks.com