The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Paint & Bodywork

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-28-2019, 04:12 PM   #1
72longstepper

Need an experts opinion !!

Getting ready to fix the typical rusted out door bottom and have drilled out the bottom spot welds. Most of the damage is at the bottom as pictured. Was thinking of cutting out at the bottom of the "raised hump" area at the bottom but was wondering about the grinding etc. at what would be a valley. I have never welded before and bought a Mig welder and using 023 or 025 wire.
Attached Images

72longstepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 07:07 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: Need an experts opinion !!

im not a expert but have done my share of rust repair and body panel welding...
do your self a favor...dont try to learn how to weld on that.....
1st learn how to weld before attemping body panel welding
then get yourself some old body panels from a body shop to practice on
and those door panels will not be a easy fix even for a experienced fixer upper...itll take some skills to do it right...
i think youll be money ahead finding some better doors

RIP Dad
RIP Jesse

1981 C30 LQ9 NV4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
Mongos AD- LS3 TR6060...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...34#post8522334
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
2023 Chevy Z71..daily driver

Last edited by mongocanfly; 08-28-2019 at 07:17 PM.
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 07:31 PM   #3
nsb29

I made my door bottoms but I believe you can buy them looking at what you have makes me wonder what the outside skin is like and as said don’t learn how to weld on those doors
Old 08-30-2019, 09:43 AM   #4
72longstepper