The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-30-2009, 03:36 PM   #1
bluex

Project: 7-8-7

This is the project thread for my newly acquired 87 K5.

I picked it up with the intentions of swapping all the good parts from my '78 over to. Thats what led me to the name, but I have decided to grant the truck a pardon from its death sentance. Long story short it has lots of rust, but also lots of meaning and memories to me. I was going to let it live on in the blazer, but I think I'll just take my time and build it the way I want.

Anyway on to the pics, this is how it looked after I got it home, and spent 2.5hrs washing it. I had been sitting under a tree for about 2 years I think...

Here are my plans:

I have an 82 swb chassis I was going to use to start a frame off with the '78.
It will be donating its suspension to the K5. I will then set the rails aside to use for the truck....maybe

I will be selling the entire drivetrain and suspension that is currently on it to fund the project. Also the front seats on console. I will be putting later model seats in it (99+) with the jump seat in the middle so the whole family can ride together to car shows etc...

I will probably look for a vortec 350 from a 96-99 truck to replace the engine and convert it to carb. I may "borrow" the engine from the '78 as I want to put a LS based engine in it. I have also had thoughts of using a vortec 4200 I6 like in my wifes trailbazer. Mainly looking to get it running now and possibly selling my 07 and making the blazer a daily.
bluex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 03:45 PM   #2
bluex

Re: Project: 7-8-7

Progress so far: