The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2013, 03:28 PM   #1
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
cruise control switch

What have you guys used for a cruise control switch? I just got a new column for a 72 and don't want to wire one of the old switches into it. Anyone done anything special for their cruise control switches?
Also does anyone know the part number for the brake light switch needed to wire the cruise control together?
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,671
Re: cruise control switch

Are you wanting something that goes on the column like stock or something else? Sounds like you don't want it on the column, but if you do, I have some that will work on your 72 column. You can also buy a Dakota Digital or other aftermarket lever, but be aware that they are wired the opposite of GM switches, so you'll have to use relays to reverse the switches. The only aftermarket one that you do not need the relays with is the Dakota Digital dash mounted one. The ones I have are GM so it's as easy as hooking up 4 wires to make them work. I have two different styles, one is smooth and one is ribbed and looks similar to the original turn signal lever on a 67-72. I can get you pics if you're interested.

The brake switch you need is 25524848. That is an ACDelco number, but there are aftermarket replacements also
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:30 PM   #3
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
Re: cruise control switch

Thanks for the help. I'd like to keep it off the column if possible but I was seeing what options are out there. Send me some pictures of one of the dash mounts. Thanks!
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:27 PM   #4
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,671
Re: cruise control switch

http://m.summitracing.com/parts/dak-hnd-2
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:19 PM   #5
Thealien
Senior Member
 
Thealien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA, East coast
Posts: 2,697
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by themb2g View Post
Thanks for the help. I'd like to keep it off the column if possible but I was seeing what options are out there. Send me some pictures of one of the dash mounts. Thanks!
Just curious why you wouldn't want it on the directional lever just like factory? LS1nova and his switches are the best bang for the buck and look correct.

Just asking it is your vehicle, do what makes you happy.
Thealien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:23 AM   #6
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
Re: cruise control switch

I am just seeing what other options are out there. I am trying to keep the truck looking as stock as possible even though its an LS switch. either way the CC controls are going to change that so I am seeing what options are available and what everyone else has done.
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 01:36 AM   #7
BR3W CITY
meowMEOWmeowMEOW
 
BR3W CITY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MKE WI
Posts: 7,132
Re: cruise control switch

I'd be interested in this too. I have an aftermarket column and don't want to change the levers on it for the old plastic type.

I've got a switch panel on the dash running my lights and wipers, I'd like to add my CC there. I understand it can be done with a couple of switches (one toggle and one momentary), but I'm not completely competent on actually doing it.
__________________
'66 Short Step / SD Tuned / Big Cam LQ4 / Backhalfed /Built 4l80e / #REBUILDEVERYTHING

MY BUILD THE H8RDCPTR //\\ MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL REV J HD
BR3W CITY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:55 AM   #8
Crash_OK
Registered User
 
Crash_OK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmond, OK.
Posts: 1,361
Re: cruise control switch

This is what I did..

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...&postcount=471
__________________
Mark
-----------------------

Crash's 69 4x4 SWB

Crash's Roof over Lake Home

Crash's 1988 Land Cruiser Build
Crash_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:57 AM   #9
Crash_OK
Registered User
 
Crash_OK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmond, OK.
Posts: 1,361
Re: cruise control switch

More

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...&postcount=493
__________________
Mark
-----------------------

Crash's 69 4x4 SWB

Crash's Roof over Lake Home

Crash's 1988 Land Cruiser Build
Crash_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:59 AM   #10
Crash_OK
Registered User
 
Crash_OK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Edmond, OK.
Posts: 1,361
Re: cruise control switch

Final.. I added a third relay to feed to cruise input on Dakota Digital gauge set

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...&postcount=496
__________________
Mark
-----------------------

Crash's 69 4x4 SWB

Crash's Roof over Lake Home

Crash's 1988 Land Cruiser Build
Crash_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:10 AM   #11
Hart_Rod
*************

 
Hart_Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 17,217
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash_OK View Post
Final.. I added a third relay to feed to cruise input on Dakota Digital gauge set

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...&postcount=496
Great info Guys!
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
Rob - http://instagram.com/hart_rod
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So One Man Sharpens Another. Proverbs 27:17

FOR SALE: DBW pedal bracket, Pedal adapter for LS trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=651123
FOR SALE: ChubTubz, Rear tubs for slammed trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=675754
FOR SALE: Hood Brackets, Bolt in hood brackets! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=679945


1969 SuperBurb - 5.3/Magnacharger..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=200387
1968 Farm truck: LS3/6L80/TVS1900: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=358692
1968 SWB - SHIFTED: PB Xtreme DM/LS1/Dakota Digital/AccuAir/Vintage Air/...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=551258
1948 5 Window Chevy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=122164&page=3
FAQ: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/f...play.php?f=220
Hart_Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:09 PM   #12
Daaaanz67
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 805
Re: cruise control switch

I used lsnova switch the ribbed one matches my tilt lever perfectly. Even comes with tech support just in case can't beat the price just for that. Oh yeah forgot to say his levers are first class.
Posted via Mobile Device
Daaaanz67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:24 AM   #13
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 8,237
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daaaanz67 View Post
I used lsnova switch the ribbed one matches my tilt lever perfectly. Even comes with tech support just in case can't beat the price just for that. Oh yeah forgot to say his levers are first class.
Posted via Mobile Device
Me too, and I agree, LS1Nova is always willing to assist.
__________________
Clyde65

Rebuild of Clyde
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post8338184

69 Aristocrat Lo Liner build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:58 PM   #14
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
Re: cruise control switch

LS1 and Clyde, do you guys have pictures of the GM style?
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:25 AM   #15
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 8,237
Re: cruise control switch

I found it!

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=511477

Page 3, post# 54 shows exactly what I purchased from LS1Nova. He was very helpful in getting the parts and pointing me in the right direction.
__________________
Clyde65

Rebuild of Clyde
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post8338184

69 Aristocrat Lo Liner build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 10:42 PM   #16
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1nova71 View Post
Are you wanting something that goes on the column like stock or something else? Sounds like you don't want it on the column, but if you do, I have some that will work on your 72 column. You can also buy a Dakota Digital or other aftermarket lever, but be aware that they are wired the opposite of GM switches, so you'll have to use relays to reverse the switches. The only aftermarket one that you do not need the relays with is the Dakota Digital dash mounted one. The ones I have are GM so it's as easy as hooking up 4 wires to make them work. I have two different styles, one is smooth and one is ribbed and looks similar to the original turn signal lever on a 67-72. I can get you pics if you're interested.

The brake switch you need is 25524848. That is an ACDelco number, but there are aftermarket replacements also
CAn you send me pictures of the two options you dont have to make a new relay for? how much do you sell them for?
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 11:29 AM   #17
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,671
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by themb2g View Post
CAn you send me pictures of the two options you dont have to make a new relay for? how much do you sell them for?
Here's the pics. $45 shipped in the lower 48. Comes with the pigtail and wires are labled. The first two pics are the of the smooth one, the 3rd pic is the ribbed one in my truck, but isn't painted nice, the 4th one is the back side of the ribbed one, and the last pic is of how the writing is put back on them.
Attached Images
     
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 03:39 PM   #18
JJH Jimmy
Senior Member
 
JJH Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 555
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by daaaanz67 View Post
i used lsnova switch the ribbed one matches my tilt lever perfectly. Even comes with tech support just in case can't beat the price just for that. Oh yeah forgot to say his levers are first class.
posted via mobile device
x2.
__________________
1972 GMC Jimmy 4x4 LS Swap
2017 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax

My "It's a Jimmy Thing" Build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=583528
JJH Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:29 PM   #19
Jon01
Registered User
 
Jon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 450
Re: cruise control switch

What all is involved in wiring up one of those switches from LS1Nova?
I'd love to have cruise for road trips, my setup is DBW if that makes any difference.
The harness has cruise, decel and accel already broken out.
Jon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 03:05 PM   #20
Daaaanz67
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 805
Re: cruise control switch

Real simple the wires come labeled to match yours, one wire will tie into the white wire that feeds your tail light. Just make sure your brake light switch is adjusted properly that's where I had my problem.
Posted via Mobile Device
Daaaanz67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:32 PM   #21
themb2g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 411
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1nova71 View Post
Here's the pics. $45 shipped in the lower 48. Comes with the pigtail and wires are labled. The first two pics are the of the smooth one, the 3rd pic is the ribbed one in my truck, but isn't painted nice, the 4th one is the back side of the ribbed one, and the last pic is of how the writing is put back on them.
Looks good. Send me your pay pal info. Tx
__________________
Check out my build: 1972 LQ4 Swap

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post5427693
themb2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:06 PM   #22
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,671
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon01 View Post
What all is involved in wiring up one of those switches from LS1Nova?
I'd love to have cruise for road trips, my setup is DBW if that makes any difference.
The harness has cruise, decel and accel already broken out.
If your harness already has wires labeled for cruise it's simple. One wire will be hooked to an ignition 12v source and the other three will go to your wires coming out of your harness (they actually go to the TAC module, but you don't need to know that if they're labeled ) They will be on/off, set/coast and resume/accel.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 08:05 AM   #23
Jon01
Registered User
 
Jon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 450
Re: cruise control switch

Sweet. Do you have any ribbed units? If so, shoot me your PP addy and I'll get you paid up.

That's gonna be NICE!
Jon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:11 PM   #24
Jon01
Registered User
 
Jon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 450
Re: cruise control switch

Got my switch in the mail today. Eric makes some quality stuff. I'd highly recommend anybody thinking about going with his unit do it.
I can't wait to get this wired in, cruise is going to be very nice on roadtrips!
__________________
64 Biscayne - 230/PG, Accuair E-Level, 18/20 Bonneville C's.
68 Charger R/T - #'s matching 440/auto car, 499/727/3.91.
68 GTX - 440/4-speed, Dana 60. 44,000 miles.
71 SWB C10 - LQ4+S476r
06 Duramax - LBZ - Exhaust, EFI Live, etc...
Jon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:00 PM   #25
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,671
Re: cruise control switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon01 View Post
Got my switch in the mail today. Eric makes some quality stuff. I'd highly recommend anybody thinking about going with his unit do it.
I can't wait to get this wired in, cruise is going to be very nice on roadtrips!
Thanks for the kind words. If you have any questions when hooking it up or have any problems getting everything to work just let me know.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com