The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Paint & Bodywork

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-24-2011, 08:22 AM   #1
RandyL1966

slick sand comments

I'm a bodyman and painter have been for years I have spent hundred of hours filling and sanding and I'm really picky

so tell me about this product
whats the do's and don'ts
any problems
and what kind of imperfections are u covering
and how are u applying this product
Old 04-24-2011, 09:09 AM   #2
sevt_chevelle
Lost amongst the CORN

Re: slick sand comments

In a nutshell slick sand and the other poly primers are basically sprayable bondo.
A few dont's.
Don't hose the product on, 3 nice wet med coats will do just fine.
Only mix up enough product for one coat at a time. If you mix up enough product for say three coats all at once and have it sitting in the mixing cup, poly primer will start to kick over faster.
I spray poly primers with a 2.0 tip in my Sata KLC primer gun.

You can paint directly over poly primer but I wouldn't, I like to spray a few coats of urethane primer, block that then paint. Some guys I know just spray a sealer then paint...Eric

70 Chevelle gettin Sliced and Diced Anything But STOCK
70 Chevelle SS455 not a typo its a BUICK BABY
49 and 72 Chevy Trucks restored to original...close to it
Drommer Stor....Norwegian for Dream Big

http://s969.photobucket.com/albums/a...lle/?start=all

https://www.flickr.com/photos/47922830@N03/
Pictures of my work and projects
sevt_chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
steverino66

I definitely plan to try the slick sand a little later, but need some advice about my starting point: I have some epoxy primer for the base, but not sure if what I've done is enough prep to spray it -