The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-08-2017, 01:01 PM   #1
darrellyates

Is this original??

OK. While building my '68 Chevrolet C10, I bought an aftermarket hood. Fit terrible. So, I decided to get an original hood. Found one from a semi-local place that deals only in C10 trucks. Now for my question. On the underside of the hood, was this light. I've never seen one, but I'm not an expert. Is it original? Or, has somebody added it? I sort of like it, and was thinking of either having it chromed or just to paint it, but if it's aftermarket I'll likely just leave it off.

Thanks for your input! ( I searched for under hood lights by the way, and only found reference to like a corded retracting light.)

Thanks again in advance
Attached Images

darrellyates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 01:45 PM   #2
dozerbill72

Re: Is this original??

Others will know more, but I did see a well optioned truck on Craigslist a day or two ago that had the same light. It was just off center to the drivers side back by the cowl. I didn't see any call out on the SPID but it is probably tied up in another option. Hopefully the experts weigh in.
dozerbill72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 01:52 PM   #3
dozerbill72

The red 69 C10 CST in the trucks for sale section on this forum is where I saw it.
dozerbill72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 01:54 PM   #4
Leonard60

I've never seen those on 67-72 trucks but several of my squarebodys came with those new.
Leonard60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 03:00 PM   #5
RustyBucket