The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-12-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
cyclefreak207

New member from DFW, first truck build not starting where I thought!

Hey everyone, just starting my first build: 86 swb.
First older vehicle I built was a 73 SS nova after I graduated high school, during the $4.00/gallon gas prices. Which lead to me getting into hondas. Had 2 different b series swapped civic hatchbacks, a single cam civic coupe, b swapped crx si, and a turbo '00 Si coupe.

But at the end of the day... they just didn't have character... to someone who knows and appreciates hondas, they were nice cars, but to everyone else, it was just another honda.

Shortly after I picked up an 86 mustang with a 347 stroker mated to a borg warner 5 speed, 3.73 rear end etc. Did an 87+ front end, tail light and quarter glass conversion. It was fun, but everyone and their mom has a mustang..

It was time, I'd wanted a truck since I was a little boy, and I always wanted a square body. Plus I have a kawasaki 636 that's set up as a stunt bike. So having a +13 tooth sprocket in the back makes it a pain to ride to the parking lot to stunt.

I traded my 1997 camry that I've had since I was 15 for the truck, car had just gone over 200k and was beginning to look towards the light haha.

Been loving the truck ever since, and I haven't been this excited on a new project in a while!

To do list in the beginning:
Put new passenger door on and spray flat black to match the rest of the truck.
Put new regulator/motor in driver door.
Get electronic speedo cable to make my speedo work with the 4 speed auto.
Fix the tilt mechanism in my column (column flops, but I have another good column)