The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-11-2018, 12:41 PM   #1
SangerV

Lift Help for 4x4 GMC

Hey all I'm new at this and need some advise on correcting a mess. Previous owner lifted the front end by separating the shackle frame mount from the hanger and inserting (welding) 4" rectangular tube in between to install a brush bumper. I want to restore to original configuration with oem bumper. I have a new shackle and hanger and want to lift by the same amount with a block between springs and axle. Question is how tall a block to achieve the same lift ? 4" ? Thanks
SangerV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 01:52 PM   #2
jeffahart

Re: Lift Help for 4x4 GMC

Quote:
Originally Posted by SangerV View Post
Hey all I'm new at this and need some advise on correcting a mess. Previous owner lifted the front end by separating the shackle frame mount from the hanger and inserting (welding) 4" rectangular tube in between to install a brush bumper. I want to restore to original configuration with oem bumper. I have a new shackle and hanger and want to lift by the same amount with a block between springs and axle. Question is how tall a block to achieve the same lift ? 4" ? Thanks
Do not use blocks for lift in the front end. Get springs. Where did you get new shackle hangers for the front? Anyhow, you can use lift blocks in the rear but not the front. It is dangerous and unsafe. You can use a 1" zero rate because it acts like a spring in the pack, other than that, no blocks in the front.

Please post some pics of our current setup.

j
Old 10-11-2018, 03:13 PM   #3
sweetk30

x2 NO BLOCKS IN FRONT

x2 on post pics so we can help you much faster and better than guessing .
85-c10sb summer fun toy .
-----------------------------