The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 99-06 GMT800 Chevy and GMC Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2019, 08:29 AM   #1
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,718
Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

My daughter has a 2000 Silverado 1500 and it has 287k on it. We replaced the cluster with one from a boneyard because the PRDL display was missing.. The new cluster has 150k on the odometer. Is there a way to sync the new cluster with the ECM to show the correct mileage?
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 02:01 PM   #2
shifty
Questionable
 
shifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13,001
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

This thread from GMT400 covers adjusting the odometer part: https://www.gmt400.com/threads/clust...5/#post-449362

I have no idea how to get the actual mileage out of the ECM though.
__________________
Even if you don't see me actively posting, I'm probably still around. Drop me a PM.
shifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 02:16 PM   #3
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,718
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

This one has a digital display, but the mileage is stored in the cluster somewhere. We hooked up a fancy scan tool and it was able to tell us the mileage from the ECM. I figured the cluster would read that info from the ECM and display it on the cluster.

The link you sent is for analog odometers.

The picture in this link will show you the digital display.
https://www.bing.com/images/search?v...vt=0&eim=1,2,6
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 04:40 PM   #4
shifty
Questionable
 
shifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 13,001
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

Ah! That's the 99-06 NBS cluster. I thought maybe she had a 00 OBS old cluster or something because this was posted in the 88-98 forum.

Might have more luck posting in the next generation's subforum dealing with 99-06. Not sure how much that one is frequented though.
__________________
Even if you don't see me actively posting, I'm probably still around. Drop me a PM.
shifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 04:51 PM   #5
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,718
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

Crap! My bad on wrong post location! I will re-post there.
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:41 PM   #6
Palf70Step
State of Confusion!

 
Palf70Step's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Gulfport, MS USA
Posts: 38,997
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

I moved it for you Steve, then saw your other one. so I hid it so there is only one and now one yelss at you or sends you to facebook jail
__________________
Bill

1981 GMC High Sierra SWB Stepside

Member of Louisiana Classic Truck Club (LCTC)
Board Vendors
Bill's Gallery
Life isn't tied with a bow, but it's still a gift.
Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God!
It's scary when you start making the same noises as your coffee maker.
Palf70Step is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 07:13 AM   #7
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,718
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Palf70Step View Post
I moved it for you Steve, then saw your other one. so I hid it so there is only one and now one yelss at you or sends you to facebook jail
Thank you Bill!
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:30 AM   #8
hatzie
Senior Member
 
hatzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wentworth, NH
Posts: 3,473
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

Quote:
Originally Posted by shifty View Post
Ah! That's the 99-06 NBS cluster. I thought maybe she had a 00 OBS old cluster or something because this was posted in the 88-98 forum.

Might have more luck posting in the next generation's subforum dealing with 99-06. Not sure how much that one is frequented though.
There are at least two generations of T800 clusters. First design was 99-02. 03-07 used a different cluster than the first design trucks. I'm not positive that the 99 cluster can be used on 00-02 vehicles...

I thought the PCM or BCM got its' mileage info from the cluster so once you plug in the new cluster and mate it to the system the controller will have the mileage from the new cluster.

If you have a record of the mileage from the old cluster... There are tools that that will allow you to adjust the mileage to match the old cluster. They aren't cheap.

The tool to re-program clusters is not inexpensive. I'd get the original cluster repaired and swap it back in or take it to a speedometer repair outfit and get the replacement odometer matched to the old one. You may be able to horsetrade the old cluster for the odometer match.
__________________
1959 M35A2 LDT465-1D SOLD
1967 Dodge W200 B383, NP420/NP201 SOLD
1969 Dodge Polara 500 B383, A833 SOLD
1972 Ford F250 FE390, NP435/NP205 SOLD
1976 Chevy K20, 6.5L, NV4500/NP208 SOLD
1986 M1008 CUCV SOLD
2000 GMC C2500, TD6.5L, NV4500
2005 Chevy Silverado LS 2500HD 6.0L 4L80E/NP263
2009 Impala SS LS4 V8


RTFM... GM Parts Books, GM Schematics, GM service manuals, and GM training materials...Please include at least the year and model in your threads. It'll be easier to answer your questions.
And please let us know if and how your repairs were successful.

Last edited by hatzie; 05-08-2019 at 11:59 AM.
hatzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 07:43 AM   #9
61_FL_Apache
Who Me?
 
61_FL_Apache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,718
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

Thank you for the feedback John.
__________________
Steve
61_FL_Apache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:42 PM   #10
mMad Dawg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary AB.
Posts: 82
Re: Sync odometer from cluster to ECM

I replaced the cluster in my 2000 Silverado. I plugged it in and turned the key on. It read the the mileage of the old truck. I turned the key off and then started my truck. It now reads my original mileage. No scan tool. Hope this helps. Gord
mMad Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com