The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-17-2023, 11:13 AM   #1
Phungki

Battery draining

So my battery completely drains overnight. I only have the ignition, starter, distributor and alternator hooked up. Just what is necessary to turn the key and start it. Its a new painless wiring system. The key is taken out so its not accidentally left on acc. Im new to this vehicle restoration stuff. Some days its a lot of fun and some days I think I’m spending money just to be frustrated.
I don’t understand why a battery drains overnight with so little hooked up.
Im using a new optima redtop if that matters
Phungki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2023, 11:39 AM   #2
leegreen

Re: Battery draining

Disconnect the battery, does it still drain? Then the battery is shorted inside.

If battery is good, then you have a sizable power draw to drain it overnight.
Disconnect battery negative, put a test light or multimeter between battery and ground, Can you see current? Disconnect other circuits (or pull fuses) one at a time until the test light goes out.

The starter, alternator and power to ignition switch, are likely culprits, but there are also some points that always have power regardless of ignition switch, depending how much you have wired or is prewired in the kit harness:
brake lights
4 way flashers
horn
headlights
dome light
maybe other things. You may not have these wired, but the circuits will be live in the fuse block, whatever wires are connected to it and probably inside your steering column if you have a newer column and have the column plugged in.
leegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2023, 11:54 AM   #3
unclebrad

I ended up putting in a simple battery cutoff.