The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-07-2018, 04:21 PM   #1
regan56

fuel filler location - wheres yours?

doing some thinking on the gas tank for my 56 and in my opinion the one to choose is teh one that has the right filler location for your truck.

i'm inclined to go in the bed with my filler because i'm not experienced in metal fab, so teh idea of cutting open my fender to house the filler cap seems daunting to me.

where else could it go though really? Show me your filler cap locations and how you got it there...
regan56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 10:59 PM   #2
dsraven

Re: fuel filler location - wheres yours?

in the bed is nice and all. easy if you don't have fab skills. I havenever had one there because it would be a pain for me.
-you can't haul anything when you need gas
-you gotta jump in the bed to fill
-you may spill fuel on your nice finished bed boards

when thinking about the filler location think about fill and vent. to fill the tank it has to vent the same amount of air easily or it will burp on you or take forever to fill. the filler needs to be higher than the tank so it doesn't try to leak when you go up hills or around corners. the filler needs to be as straight a shot as possible down to the tank. don't forget to use a filler ground strap to handle the static charge.