The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1988 - 1998 GMT400 Chevy & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-13-2010, 08:33 PM   #1
misfits

1990 chevy code 42 / Running rough

I have a 1990 chevy pickup with a 305 that originally had a v6 in it, manual trans, 2wd. Its reading a code 42 that according to what I read is Electronic Spark Timing (EST) Bypass Circuit fault. I really don't know where to start with this. Is there a simple fix to this? I'm new to these new fangled computerized vehicles. Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by misfits; 07-17-2010 at 03:50 PM.
misfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:43 PM   #2
ChevyTech

Re: 1990 chevy code 42

Have you checked or adjusted the timing recently?

A code 42 will get set when the set timing connector is unplugged to set the timing.

Does the service engine light come on while driving?
ChevyTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 10:03 AM   #3
misfits

I haven't done anything with the timing, I just bought it recently so it may have been the previous owner. It comes on when you start it. I guess ill check for loose connections first.
Old 07-14-2010, 10:30 AM   #4
ChevyTech

Clear the code by pulling the ECM fuses for 30 seconds and then reinstall the fuses. Make sure the key is OFF when you do this.

Check the code to make sure it is gone.

Then start the vehicle and see if the code 42 comes back.

A code 42 is set when the ECM loses communication with the distributor.

Code 42 can be set by a bad distributor module, a bad ECM or wiring problems between the ECM and distributor.

A bad distributor module is a common cause for this code.

Many stores like NAPA in my area will test the module for free if you bring it in.