The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > The 1973 - 1991 Blazers, Jimmys, and Suburbans Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-28-2016, 04:24 PM   #1
The Blue Pig
Thread Wizard Since 2002

1989 Suburban lift (advice?)

Hello, guys!

As you can see, I've been frequenting this site for just under 10,000 years and have switched my focus. I always was more into lower and faster when I was younger.

Last year, I picked up an 89 GMC V1500. 350 TBI, 700R4, etc. I really, really like it. It's older, but still new enough to have a few creature comforts. I don't want carburetors and crank windows anymore.

So, getting to the point. I live here in Fairbanks and when I go out with the kids, I have already found myself in a spot once or twice where I am limited by my ride height.

I would like to look into getting a 6 inch lift and 35's under the Burb. Mostly for utility, partially for looks. Not looking do to any serious off roading or mud racing, but just to be able to go a bit further onto the gravel bar or into the water.

I have noticed (and confirmed via forums) that the rear end has a pretty good sag to it and getting blocks, etc. to raise the rear would just leave me with a 6 inch lifted, still saggy Burb.

So, I'm looking for input! I have only found two suspension outfits that actually offer full rear springs in their lift kits. Is this the proper direction for me to travel?

More importantly, what can I expect when I go to install this kit? Do I need to get a T-case relocator along with the dropped pitman arm? Anyone have any advice on what may creep up on me and be a surprise PITA when I go to install this lift?
--74 C-10 Shortbed
--86 Toyota Tercel (His Driver)
--05 Chevy Trailblazer (Her Driver)