The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > All 4x4 Tech & Off Roading

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-11-2014, 02:28 PM   #1
Guitar.Slave

Doing a 52"/56" swap, Q's left after a year of research and contemplation.(noob here)

I've read everything on the web twice, watched the vid's. Going for a rig that can haul gear, and a quad or two (in bed) as far as the trail is wide, and still haul horse food. (thats not necessary, just a small future possibilty, it can always be delivered). My packs are 6 and 8 leaf so I'm not concerned too much with softness, and good shocks should help with that. I've got my plan except a few things like:

home made weld on brackets, pre made weld on ones or bolt on for shackle hangers and the like. weld on I've read leaves a small window for error on the welds, bolt on not so much. Best route?

cut and mount new multi-hole axle perches where necessary vs. shim the axle and ez-inch. is there a better choice for a dual purpose rig?

where are greasable bolts/bushings REALLY effective and should be implemented?

Cross over or stock steering? hydro assist? I've heard the two sides and bump steer sneaks into both scenarios. Cross over seems to be the route but I've read where stock has been modified effectively.

with 37's does the d44 need trussed or would reinforced C's cut it? (trails hard if needed, not racing or jumping)

Flange vs CV vs double cardan vs U joint on the driveshafts? (I might have repeated the same thing with a different name there, excuse my noobness)

and with new shafts, is a tranny/transfer drop necessary? haven't read about it yet, but i know it can surface unexpectedly. would clocking the transfer be something to think about at this point as well?