The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-12-2014, 09:49 PM   #1
NEWBIEC10

Removing front springs on 1968 Chevy C10 with drums

total newbie on chevy c 10! will my lower control arm clear my drum brakes when I undo the castle nut on my lower ball joint to drop out the spring? it looks like the drum may interfere with the lower control arm seeking advice Thanks
NEWBIEC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 12:16 AM   #2
NEWBIEC10

Re: Removing front springs on 1968 Chevy C10 with drums

Anyone? Do I half to remove the drum from the spindle? Any information would be much appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-13-2014, 12:34 AM   #3
NEWBIEC10

Removing front springs. PLEASE HELP!!!

1968 C-10 with drum brakes, If I loosen the castle nut on the lower ball joint and then free the ball joint. Will the A arm clear my drum backing plate? It looks to me that it will not. Has anyone done it? Thanks
Old 03-13-2014, 01:21 AM   #4
Pro Performance

Re: Removing front springs. PLEASE HELP!!!

I am a little confused on your question, but think you are asking if the spring can be removed by just removing the lower ball joint from the spindle. Yes, this should be enough room to swing the arm down and pull the spring out. Be very careful, as the spring still may be under tension even though the ball joint is free.
Pro Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 01:58 AM   #5
airdale94

Not sure what you think will interfere. Once you break that ball joint loose the only thing that will interfere with the control arm is the ground.
Old 03-13-2014, 02:07 AM   #6
Motoxrrar