The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2017, 04:09 PM   #1
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Dash Cluster

I'm almost done wiring up my son's truck with a new wiring harness from American Autowire. Today I changed his temperature gauge on his dash cluster. When i took it out the cluster to replace the wiring. I cut some wires that were attached to the cluster. Would I have to reconnect this wires back up to the new wire harness? His original wire harness was like a rat's nest. i think that's why they added the wires on back of the cluster to make some of the gauges work. Can somebody tell me if the back of my cluster looks okay and if I can remove those wires that are attached.

thanks,
Ramiro
Attached Images
 
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 04:15 PM   #2
dfwright
Senior Member
 
dfwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,290
Re: Dash Cluster

It looks like your printed circuit has been hacked up. If you remove the external wires, you might need a new circuit board to connect the gauges through the standard wiring connector. The AAW harness will expect to connect through the standard wiring connector, with an intact printed circuit
__________________
1972 C10 LWB, 350/350

A few pictures of the restoration progress
dfwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 04:18 PM   #3
dfwright
Senior Member
 
dfwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,290
Re: Dash Cluster

This is what the printed circuit should look like.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1972 C10 LWB, 350/350

A few pictures of the restoration progress
dfwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 04:33 PM   #4
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfwright View Post
This is what the printed circuit should look like.
Dfwright after I looked at the printed circuit . I was thinking the same thing. Looks like I will be ordering a new printed circuit. Thanks for your help.
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 07:32 PM   #5
Andy4639
Orignal Goof member
 
Andy4639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Liberty, & Garden City S.C. , U.S.
Posts: 15,837
Thumbs up Re: Dash Cluster

Printed circuit is cut off at the two bottom gauges. Buy new one and everything should be fine.
__________________
1971 LWB Custom, 6.0LS & 4L80E, Speedhut.com GPS speedometer & gauges with A/C. 20" Boss 338's Grey wheels 4 wheel disc brakes. My Driver
Seeing the USA in a 71


Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013,14 and 2016 Hot Rod Pour Tour


http://upstategmtrucks.com/



Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

LWB trucks rule, if you don't think so measure your SWB!
After talking to tech support at Air Lift I have found out that the kit I need is 60811. Per the measurements I gave them. Ride height of truck inside spring and inside diameter of springs.
Andy4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 07:40 PM   #6
demian5
Registered User
 
demian5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 824
Re: Dash Cluster

If the truck harness is butchered, you may have to hook it back up like it was or fix the problems. A new circuit board may not fix it.

Oh and add a ground wire between the cluster bolt above the speedo and the body of the truck.
__________________
"Work hard, use your vacation days."
1970 C15 GMC Long Bed
1986 C20 Scottsdale (grandpa truck)
1964 Impala SS
1959 Austin Healey 100-6 BN6
demian5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 08:22 PM   #7
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by demian5 View Post
If the truck harness is butchered, you may have to hook it back up like it was or fix the problems. A new circuit board may not fix it.

Oh and add a ground wire between the cluster bolt above the speedo and the body of the truck.
Demian5 I installed a new wiring harness. Just tying to button everything up . So looks like i need to replace the circuit board to make it work correctly.
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 10:21 PM   #8
BrianG
Registered User
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oakley, Michigan
Posts: 726
Re: Dash Cluster

Do you have the Classic Update kit or the Stock Replacement style. If you have the Classic Update then you will have to change from the amp guage to a volt guage. This will require rewiring how the circuit board attaches to the gauge so you may want to just use what you have and run wires to the other disconnected guage. It was probably disconnected for a reason and you'll have to diagnose that first.
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 10:42 PM   #9
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
Do you have the Classic Update kit or the Stock Replacement style. If you have the Classic Update then you will have to change from the amp guage to a volt guage. This will require rewiring how the circuit board attaches to the gauge so you may want to just use what you have and run wires to the other disconnected guage. It was probably disconnected for a reason and you'll have to diagnose that first.
BrianG I have the American Autowire Power 13 kit.
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 10:57 PM   #10
BrianG
Registered User
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oakley, Michigan
Posts: 726
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramiro0727 View Post
BrianG I have the American Autowire Power 13 kit.
Hmmm guess I don't know with that kit. Might be worth a call to AAW. I've heard their customer service is really good.
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 11:06 PM   #11
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
Hmmm guess I don't know with that kit. Might be worth a call to AAW. I've heard their customer service is really good.
BrianG there customer service is great. I have emailed them a few times asking them some questions and have always answered my questions. As a matter of fact I will be emailing again. One of the wires on the kit is mislabled I think. I can't find the 12V ignition wire. It's labeled ignition feed. I need the power wire for the distributor.

Ramiro
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 01:31 AM   #12
88Stanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington State
Posts: 371
Re: Dash Cluster

I rebuilt my cluster and installed a new circuit board and a new complete wire harness. But here is a question i have. Did you remove the printed circuit board wire plug? This would be the large plug that goes into the big hole on the back. Sorry if i am going overboard, just not sure if you know what i am referring about. This plug brings all the power and wires to the board and out. It really makes me wonder if they removed the plug and instead just direct wired the gauges.
88Stanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 01:54 AM   #13
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88Stanger View Post
I rebuilt my cluster and installed a new circuit board and a new complete wire harness. But here is a question i have. Did you remove the printed circuit board wire plug? This would be the large plug that goes into the big hole on the back. Sorry if i am going overboard, just not sure if you know what i am referring about. This plug brings all the power and wires to the board and out. It really makes me wonder if they removed the plug and instead just direct wired the gauges.
88Stanger yes the cluster wiring plug was plugged in when I took it off. I ended up making a new plug for the dash cluster. I didn't like the looks of the old one.
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 02:02 AM   #14
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramiro0727 View Post
88Stanger yes the cluster wiring plug was plugged in when I took it off. I ended up making a new plug for the dash cluster. I didn't like the looks of the old one.

Here is my new cluster plug.
Attached Images
 
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 11:28 AM   #15
Swedchevy67
Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 145
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramiro0727 View Post
Here is my new cluster plug.
Hi!
I just spotted you picture and that's what I am planning to do myself.
Did you just replace the wiring from AAW in the same order and collor?
Swedchevy67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 12:50 AM   #16
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedchevy67 View Post
Hi!
I just spotted you picture and that's what I am planning to do myself.
Did you just replace the wiring from AAW in the same order and collor?
Swedchevy67 yes I replaced the wiring using the wiring from the AAW in the same color and order.

Ramiro
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 01:08 AM   #17
Swedchevy67
Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 145
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramiro0727 View Post
Swedchevy67 yes I replaced the wiring using the wiring from the AAW in the same color and order.

Ramiro
With no problems?
Swedchevy67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 01:11 AM   #18
Swedchevy67
Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 145
Re: Dash Cluster

I notice that youR nr 12 is empty? In mine I have nr 5 empty. I belive nr 12 is ground cable.
Swedchevy67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:06 AM   #19
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedchevy67 View Post
I notice that youR nr 12 is empty? In mine I have nr 5 empty. I belive nr 12 is ground cable.
Swedchevy67 I followed the wiring diagram someone posted on here. Yes I believe I left nr 12 empty.

Ramiro
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:26 AM   #20
LockDoc
The Original Thread Killer

 
LockDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montezuma, Iowa
Posts: 16,951
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramiro0727 View Post
Swedchevy67 I followed the wiring diagram someone posted on here. Yes I believe I left nr 12 empty.

Ramiro
I'm not out in the shop right now to check, but if nr12 is a ground wire it would probably be this one that the arrows are pointing to. It goes through part of the old harness.

LockDoc
Attached Images
 
__________________
Leon

Locksmith, Specializing In Antique Trucks, Automobiles, & Motorcycles
LockDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 12:23 PM   #21
VetteVet
Msgt USAF Ret
 
VetteVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 7,816
Re: Dash Cluster

No. 12 is the battery gauge positive wire in the stock harness. It mates with no. 1 in the harness plug for the other terminal ( remember the word Swede).



Name:  cluster connector with gauges.jpg
Views: 171
Size:  27.8 KB
__________________
VetteVet

metallic green 67 stepside
74 corvette convertible
1965 Harley sportster
1995 Harley wide glide

Growing old is hell, but it beats the alternative.
VetteVet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 12:00 AM   #22
LockDoc
The Original Thread Killer

 
LockDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montezuma, Iowa
Posts: 16,951
Re: Dash Cluster

-
The one in my picture should be #7 then....

LockDoc
__________________
Leon

Locksmith, Specializing In Antique Trucks, Automobiles, & Motorcycles
LockDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 12:26 AM   #23
Ramiro0727
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Porterville, CA
Posts: 84
Re: Dash Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedchevy67 View Post
With no problems?
No problems at all.
Ramiro0727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com