The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-30-2020, 12:23 PM   #1
woodsey

454 with comp Thumper cam troubles

I have a fresh rebuilt 454 with a comp thumper cam and I cannot get the engine timed properly. It will idle great but detonate under slight load. Any input would be greatly appreciated
woodsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 12:35 PM   #2
68is4me

Re: 454 with comp Thumper cam troubles

I am not a cam expert but the thumper cams are really made to sound really good at idle. I would bet your lobe separation is at 107-108. That makes them really hard to tune.

Give us you engine specs, cam specs

I am sure somebody more knowledgeable will chime in.
06 gmc duramax
68is4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:16 PM   #3
woodsey

The engine is a 454 bore 20 thou over with 9.5 to 1 pistons cast iron heads complete comp cam valve train including timing chain and gears. The cam is is a 11-600-4 thumper cam. Hope that helps. I contacted comp cams about this problem and got a very strange response so looking else where
Old 07-30-2020, 02:10 PM   #4
68Gold/white

Really need to know the combustion chamber volume, and how far below the deck the pistons sit at top dead center.
68Gold/white is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:20 PM   #5
gmc684x4

The thumper cam is your issue of tuning

Move your vacuum advance to mansfold pressure not on ported pressure

Here is an article i found that talks about tuning a thumper cam

https://www.hotrodders.com/forum/sbc...300.html?amp=1
gmc684x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:34 PM   #6
gmc684x4

Here is another article on tuning a thumper cam and explains some of the issues

https://www.hotrod.com/articles/carb...e-big-cam-sag/