The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevy/GMC Suburbans & Panels Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2018, 06:45 AM   #1
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Choke Question

Hi All,
I have recently purchased a 4x4 1969 Suburban with i6 250 ci engine. I will try to make it as stock as possible.. My question is about the choke. Looking to the carburetor, it looks like it is an automatic choke. And as far as I have read on the forum and owners manual, this is the standard automatic Rochester carburetor.

But also I have a pull type switch (looks like the choke switch). Is this for the choke? Is my carburetor aftermarket? (Or is the button/switch?)

Thank you in advance..

Regards

Sinan
Attached Images
   
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:46 AM   #2
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Welcome Sinan!
Yes your carb has been changed to an automatic choke type.
Originally it would have been a manual choke type.
The choke/switch is stock. It’s just a cable connection to your carb.
You need some more parts on your intake and carb to make that carb work correctly.
You can adapt a manual choke kit to that carb or if total originality is needed you’ll need to find a correct carb.
Take some more pics for us.
Not closeups like you have now.

And here’s a link to some pics of what your carb should look like.
https://www.google.com/search?tbm=is...10.r45zXc0WsRY

Last edited by geezer#99; 11-13-2018 at 11:33 AM.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 01:36 AM   #3
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Hi,
Sorry for delay.. i had some trouble trying to take and resize pictures..
So i think i have to either add a manual choke/find stock carburetor(might be difficult here) or fond missing parts for the auto choke so that it works corect?
Here are the pictures, hope they are okay..

Thank you!
Attached Images
   
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 10:22 AM   #4
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Very good pics!
Your intake doesn’t have the parts on it to hook up your carb automatic choke.
And your carb doesn’t have the parts on it to hook up a manual choke.
You either need a new intake or a new carb.
Neither one is a good solution.
A new carb doesn’t come with the bracket you need to hook up the choke cable.
A new intake won’t come with the automatic choke parts.
I’ll post a link to what your choke should look like.
You can get choke conversion kits that will allow you to hook up your existing choke cable to your carbs automatic choke.
One like this. It comes with a new cable too.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dorman-Help...-/142978536692

Here’s the link to pics of what your choke should look like.
https://www.google.com/search?tbm=is...10.r45zXc0WsRY

Let us know what you’d like to do.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 06:54 PM   #5
michael bustamante
Senior Member
 
michael bustamante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 6,578
Re: Choke Question

actually, does a 69 have a manual choke? the choke knob stopped being in the dash in 1968.
I may be wrong, ive only owned 67 ad 68`s but im pretty sure theres no choke knobs in 69-72
__________________
1967custom
michael bustamante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 08:23 PM   #6
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Mine is 1969 and there is a choke button. I am pretty sure because VIN number mach and Chevrolet letters are on the grille..
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 08:26 PM   #7
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post

Let us know what youíd like to do.
Actually as it is not quite possible to make it run with the automatic choke, I have to source these manual choke kits you mentioned
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 08:32 PM   #8
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

That would be the best thing to do.
There are some on eBay in England. Closer too you than the US.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_f...&_sacat=163145
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 09:28 PM   #9
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Let us know if you find a kit.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 11:27 AM   #10
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

I will buy the Dorman Help 55101 GM Choke Conversion Kit that you mentioned. Evnthough there are mixed reviews on the kit ( mainly difficulty on installation and that they might need to cut the bracket) this is the cheapest solution ( and I dont know any other solution ).
They are available ar Rockauto where I buy my parts. from. So this will go into the shopping cart, as soon as I order more parts..

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 11:37 AM   #11
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Excellent!
With a manual kit you won’t need the linkage and vacuum pot that your carb has now.
When you remove it remember to plug the vacuum port it’s plugged on to.
Best of luck to you!
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 09:12 AM   #12
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Just arrived!!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 09:27 AM   #13
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Excellent!
If you encounter any more problems hooking it up be sure to ask.
And pics once you do get it on would be nice.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 12:07 PM   #14
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Hi,
When attempting to install the manual choke, i realised that there is a vacuum line coming into the lower port of the carburetor from the distrubutor (i forgot to say it was converted to electronic ignition). Then there is another line coming from an upper port of the carburetor to the vacuum diaphram valve, that supposed to control the choke.
So i am thinkng... maybe instead of the thermo receptor at the intake valve, is the choke controlled by the electronic ignition??

Either way it does not look like it is opening/closing the choke, because even with the valve is closed fully or open fully, that does not pull/push the choke rod, as it is not hooked correctly, the connections are loose..
Maybe that was the main problem of the choke not operating correctly?

Can you please suggest what i shall do? I have also found an earlier type carburetor that was removed feom the PO, so they might have upgraded to automatic choke when upgraded to electronic ignition (which i have no clue about how it works, as its too modern for me!)

Pictures below..
Attached Images
    
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2

Last edited by sinannasirli; 12-08-2018 at 12:25 PM.
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 12:10 PM   #15
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Vacuum valve
Attached Images
 
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 12:29 PM   #16
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

There’s a pic in here in post #11 of how an automatic choke works. It has a choke stove and linkage rod. Your intake doesn’t have that.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=416118

The distributor vacuum line doesn’t control your choke. It’s for your vacuum advance.
You need to remove the choke pot on yours and plug that port.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 12:37 PM   #17
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post
Thereís a pic in here in post #11 of how an automatic choke works. It has a choke stove and linkage rod. Your intake doesnít have that.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=416118

The distributor vacuum line doesnít control your choke. Itís for your vacuum advance.
You need to remove the choke pot on yours and plug that port.
So i should leave the distribitor vacuum line hooked up as it but plug the one that is going to choke? Thank you
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 01:07 PM   #18
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

That is correct.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 12:38 PM   #19
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Okay.. Now the choke is installed and here comes my comments and pictures..

1) The installation is very carburetor specific.. It is basically a long wire with sleeve (like proper choke cable, (but I could not use the sleeve, but used the sleeve that was on the truck, because the hole on my dash was a larger diameter). It is longer than needed so no problem there..

2) You supposed to drill a hole into the choke shaft and attach a double-L type bracket using the washers and screw provided where you hook the cable to... As my carburtor already had a choke, I only took the part that is attached to shaft and attached the bracket using the screw that is already on the carburetor...

3) The biggest challenge is to use a god position to attach the big L type bracket that is provided.... After spending hours and different setups, where the best was the carburetor attachment bolt on the intake manifold, I still was not happy and I decided to make my own bracket and using it..

I still attached a picture of the setup that supposed to work ( which I was not happy)
Attached Images
    
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 12:45 PM   #20
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Better pictures:
If you ask me that set is not very usefull. I would like to use a choke cable with nicer switch on the dash.. And only used the small bracket that is attached to the choke shaft and the two piece that holds the wire.. (which can be found in any hardware store) So nothing special... Though I would never think of such a conversion if I haven't bought the kit!
Attached Images
   
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 12:57 PM   #21
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Thatís the problem with those kits. They come with a bunch of parts and you get to use whatever works.
Sometimes you need to make your own brackets.
Sometimes you need to make modifications several times until youíre happy with the result.
Keep at it until youíre happy!
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 01:22 PM   #22
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Thank you for all your support..
i have tried to include as many pictures as i can to help people
with same problem like me..


Regards

Sinan
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 01:48 PM   #23
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinannasirli View Post
Thank you for all your support..
i have tried to include as many pictures as i can to help people
with same problem like me..


Regards

Sinan
Yes!
Excellent pics.
If you want to use your new cable that is too small for the hole in the dash just look for some washers like this that are large in diameter but have a smaller centre hole.

https://www.screwsandbolts.com/AN-St...rs-p/34182.htm
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 02:10 PM   #24
sinannasirli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Turkey - Istanbul
Posts: 19
Re: Choke Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post
Yes!
Excellent pics.
If you want to use your new cable that is too small for the hole in the dash just look for some washers like this that are large in diameter but have a smaller centre hole.

https://www.screwsandbolts.com/AN-St...rs-p/34182.htm
Yes but i have to also put a washer to the front side as well unless i glue that washer to the back of the panel? As nothing will keep it being pushed back?

Actually i thought using my old switch but could not clamp the new wire in..

Maybe i can get nicer knob, cut the old one and epoxy the new one instead?
__________________
Istanbul - Turkey
1969 Chevy 4x4 Suburban - i6 250 ci
1953 Willys CJ-3B
1958 BMW R26
1996 Lotus Elan s2
sinannasirli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 02:21 PM   #25
geezer#99
Registered User
 
geezer#99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bowser
Posts: 10,076
Re: Choke Question

You could use a washer front and back.
If you donít like shiny ones look for black ones.

https://www.allparts.com/AP-6691-003...ock_p_488.html

When Iím looking for different washers or brackets and stuff like that I browse around the plumbing or electrical sections at the local hardware store. Youíd be surprised what youíll find.
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com