The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-28-2016, 07:26 PM   #1
68 shotgun

Which headers don't bottom out

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to this so I. Swapping my turbo 400 for a Tremec TKO 5sd, I found out that i need headers to connect Zbar to rod.
So I need new headers, can sumbody tell me which headers will fit for 5 speed and not be lower then my frame. Truck is low already and going lower soon with air ride.
Please help!!!
Pics would be great to lol
Thank you...
68 shotgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 10:37 PM   #2
special-K
Special Order

Re: Which headers don't bottom out

I'm sorry I can't specify a current offering, but I have never bought a set of full-length headers that sat lower than the frame. Maybe dumb luck, because so many say theirs hang lower. From my experience, if you use '73-up application headers they hang lower. Maybe some header companies are listing their 73-87 headers as working on 67-72, because they sort of do. I have some Sanderson shorties for my little '67 later on. I thought center dumps didn't work on 2wds, but the member I got them from took them off his truck and said they cleared. I'm see. I also have a set of Headman Elite full headers I haven't tried. To clear the bell crank you need headers that #7 drops vertical or slighty forward. I know old names that worked, but it's been a while since I've done a 2wd with manual transmission and those companies aren't around...Cyclone, Blackjack, etc all worked well

GMC '67 C1500 Wideside Super Custom SWB: 327/M22/3.42 posi.........."The '67" (project)
GMC '72 K2500 Wideside Sierra Custom Camper: 350/TH350/4.10 Power-Lok..."The '72" (rolling)
Tim

"Don't call me a redneck. I'm a rough cut country gentleman"