The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-14-2018, 11:38 AM   #1
butler57

making a short story long...

Truck is a '72 350/350 with HEI, newer Holley 4 barrel, stock. It's been running rich so finally got some time and decided to explore prior to putting it to bed for the winter. All the signs of running rich, fouled plugs, smell of gas etc. Started running poorly in the fall, stumbled on accceleration, poor mileage etc so I assumed carb issues and/or timing as well. Must note that I'm no mechanic.
So far I've changed out the in-line fuel filter, Checked the compression (between 120-135), sprayed around and checked lines for vacuum leaks, new plugs gapped at .045, tested plug wires for arcing and double checked firing order.
While doing this I gave the distributor a twist and it was very loose. Now I've shifted it and I'm assuming screwed up the timing. It's getting gas, two streams squirt into the primaries when I stroke the throttle, but won't start.
Cranks and almost wants to go but won't start. Any advice on next steps would be appreciated.
butler57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 11:45 AM   #2
projectking

Re: making a short story long...

If it ran before you moved the distributor have somebody crank it while you turn it slowly and it should fire. Snug it down once you get it close and get the timing checked or buy a light and learn from YouTube!
90 Mustang Notchback
projectking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 11:49 AM   #3
Coley

Ok...(always) start with the timing, not the carb.

Any chance of putting the distributor back to the position from whence it came?....it was running there?

If not, then: