The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-25-2017, 08:32 PM   #1
Sawlog

Timing help please

I need to make sure I am understanding this right.
I just put my motor back together. New heads, timing chain and cam.
I set my timing with vacuum advance unplugged to 8 degrees. When I plug my vacuum advance in, it adds another 16 degrees. So I'm up to 24 degrees. With the va unplugged again I Rev motor to 3500, the mechanical advance built into the distributor adds 18 degrees.
So with every thing plugged in and going at once, my total advanced tim8ng is 42 degrees. Everything that I have read says sbc like 52 degrees. Am I missing anything? I would have to set my tim8ng to 18 degrees at the get go to get that. Sounds like alot to me? But I don't know, I'm no expert at this. What do you all think?
My vacuum advance is supposed to be adjustable, but the timing light says it's not.
Sawlog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:46 PM   #2
geezer#99

Re: Timing help please

Does it ping?
If not bump your initial to 14.
If it still doesn't ping, try a couple more degrees.
Your adjustable vac advance doesn't control how much, just when the advance kicks in.
What's your vacuum at idle?
What's the elevation where you live?
geezer#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:48 PM   #3
Sawlog

Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer#99 View Post
Does it ping?
If not bump your initial to 14.
If it still doesn't ping, try a couple more degrees.
Your adjustable vac advance doesn't control how much, just when the advance kicks in.
What's your vacuum at idle?
What's the elevation where you live?
No pinging, I don't have a vacuum gauge. Elevation 700 ft
Sawlog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 06:59 AM   #4
PGSigns