The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Info Center > FAQ Truck Tech > 67-72

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 11:11 PM   #1
BAD4X4
Registered User
 
BAD4X4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Haines oregon
Posts: 1,620
What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

Question for all you blazer guys. I got a new top for my blazer and was wondering what size bolts typically go in these. My old blazer top used fine thread 3/8 and the new top looks to be a 5/16 course thread, but don't screw in real easily??? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks
Dana
__________________
1972 Cheyenne K-30 6"lift {502 PROJECT}
1972 Cheyenne K-30 8"lift 454 450hp {Ol'Blue}
1972 Cheyenne K-20 Custom Stretch 6" lift 454
2007 GMC Crew Cab Diesel 6"lift {The Tow Rig}
2013 Nissan Altima {Wifes rig} 2000 Toyota Tacoma 3"lift {Daily Driver}
1977 El Camino SS Grandpa baught new
1955 Chevy 2-Door gasser 454 550hp{project}
1956 Chevy Bel-Air 2-Door hardtop 572 700hp
1979 Ford F-250 4"lift 35"s Ranch Truck
BAD4X4 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 12:27 AM   #2
Old Chevy Mech
Keepin it runnin!
 
Old Chevy Mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Deep River, CT
Posts: 1,036
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

My 70 has the 3/8" SAE thread. Whatever you do IMHO make sure you put antiseize on them before installing!

Frank
__________________
1970 K-5 4X4 Blazer
1970 K-20 4X4 Long Bed

"Liberty Means Responsibility, that is why most men dread it"
Old Chevy Mech is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 01:00 PM   #3
truckster
Senior Member
 
truckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 4,085
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

Looks like mine (72) are 5/16 coarse. I'd recommend you use flat washers under the heads of the bolts to protect the fiberglass.
truckster is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 10:32 AM   #4
BobbyK
Registered User
 
BobbyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,Mi.
Posts: 1,717
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

Here are the bolts used for my 71,single walled top.





I used stainless fasteners for the bedrail.
















__________________
71 blazer,350SBC,approx.375HP,700R4,factory GM TPI.Dual electric fans,33x12.5x15 ATR on stock suspension.
Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,MI.
See ALL my Blazer pic's HERE

Last edited by augie; 04-09-2011 at 03:11 PM.
BobbyK is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 12:05 PM   #5
Livrat
Member #1049
 
Livrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: 25 miles east of Arlington, Wa. 4 miles west of Darrington, Wa.
Posts: 3,898
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

All of my Blazers have hex head 5/16 coarse thread bolts, they look almost like a fender bolt but have a flanged head.. (built in washer)
Livrat is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 06:26 PM   #6
Longhorn Man
its all about the +6 inches
 
Longhorn Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hilliard Ohio
Posts: 82,703
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

slightly off topic, the single wall tops, where the bolts go down, is the bed side threaded?
This will be marked for FAQ.
Longhorn Man is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 06:39 PM   #7
Old Chevy Mech
Keepin it runnin!
 
Old Chevy Mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Deep River, CT
Posts: 1,036
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

My Parts Blazer is a 72 single wall and no the bed is not. Nuts & washers are used.
__________________
1970 K-5 4X4 Blazer
1970 K-20 4X4 Long Bed

"Liberty Means Responsibility, that is why most men dread it"
Old Chevy Mech is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:45 PM   #8
BobbyK
Registered User
 
BobbyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,Mi.
Posts: 1,717
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

My bedrail is threaded.
Is it factory?...who knows.
I blew up the pic so you could see that every other hole is threaded.
__________________
71 blazer,350SBC,approx.375HP,700R4,factory GM TPI.Dual electric fans,33x12.5x15 ATR on stock suspension.
Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,MI.
See ALL my Blazer pic's HERE
BobbyK is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:30 AM   #9
jaros44sr
Senior Member
 
jaros44sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Pa. 19454
Posts: 7,964
Re: What size bolts do you use in your Blazer top?

My '72 has both holes, single and double. The ones that bolt from the top are attached with nut plates that can slide a little for adjustment
__________________
Semper Fi...Uncle Sam, you da man

All parts offered to help are free, unless otherwise noted

Dont try this stuff in my build thread, unless you have 55 years of mechanical OTJ training
SAFETY FIRST


Jim
jaros44sr is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com