The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2009, 10:17 AM   #1
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
700r4 lockup wiring

I'm installing a 700r4 in place of my old th350,
for the lockup wiring can i run a toggle switch and a brake switch and forget the pressure switch and vacuum switch??? I have an '87 trans out of a camaro and it has a square looking plug with three pins in it, which is power, which is ground and what is the other one for?????
thanks in advance
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 11:11 AM   #2
texanidiot25
Eat My Rust
 
texanidiot25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 3,352
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

You have to have the TV cable, no matter what.
__________________
<PhillipT> And when I say "We" I'm referring to my dad and I... I am not crazy...
1969 Chevy CST/10 "OrangeCrush" Check it out!

Small Block 350, Turbo 350, former 6-lug D60 rear, now a 3.73 12 bolt And... RUST!


Paranoia is a disease unto itself, and may I add,
the person standing next to you, may not be who
they appear to be, so take precaution.
-Sathington Willoughby
texanidiot25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 11:55 AM   #3
Indyuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 583
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Yes, you can run a toggle along with the brake switch instead of a pressure switch. But why? It's much easier to wire up a pressure switch, plus it's much nicer to drive that way. Don't have to think about it.

And you don't absolutely need a vac switch. I put one in mine, but bypassed it the first day.
Indyuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 12:47 PM   #4
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

anybody know witch one is the "A" pin and witch one is the "D" pin?????
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 01:12 PM   #5
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring


which pin do i run the 12 volts to???? and which do i ground???? and what is the third one for????
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 02:38 PM   #6
71meangreenc10
Its a Truck Thing......
 
71meangreenc10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Campbell, KY
Posts: 2,153
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Ill look it up this evening if no one els jumps in.

Smitty
__________________
71 C10 283/3SPD (I know its not original but I like the motor) 4 Whl Disks,Dakota Dash,Moved Fuel Tank,Frame Off

71 GMC 1500 Sierra Grande 350/700R4 3.42 rear, Tilt, Power windows, Custom Seats, Torque Thrust II's, Serpentine Set-up w/AC. Reframed Coils and Trailing Arms, 4 inch ECE drop. 4 Wheel Disks. Repainted with my own hands and it looks Freaking Sweet....

70 Suburban Former military GSA truck,,still solid as a rock! Its starting,,,350/700R4 3.42 rear, Dodge seats.
71meangreenc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 04:17 PM   #7
michael bustamante
in progress
 
michael bustamante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 3,723
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

the plug should be labled which is which on the underside
__________________
1967custom
michael bustamante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 04:26 PM   #8
cparman
sharp as a marble
 
cparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: atlantic beach,florida
Posts: 1,086
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

the plug will be labeled. If I remember correctly, it will be the terminal in the upper left in your picture. I have a brake light switch, and a toggle, I did it this way so when I am poking along, and the engine is turning too few rpm, I can unlock the converter and eliminate the chuggle in the engine.
__________________
I AM THE LOOSE NUT BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE SEAT!
cparman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:13 AM   #9
Andy4639
Orignal Goof member
 
Andy4639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Liberty, & Garden City S.C. , U.S.
Posts: 11,802
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

I have mine just hooked up with a toggle on the dash. I bought the vacuum switch but just did away with it. It want lock up under 45MPH no way with the B&M kit. I assume you have the internal wiring done already to the transmission for this. I had it done while they built the transmission.
__________________
1971 LWB Custom, 6.0LS & 4L80E,Tach, GPS speedometer with A/C. 20" Boss 338's Grey wheels. My Driver
Seeing the USA in a 71


Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013 and 2014 Hot Rod Pour Tour


http://upstategmtrucks.com/
www.speedhutgauges.com


Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

After talking to tech support at Air Lift I have found out that the kit I need is 60811. Per the measurements I gave them. Ride height of truck inside spring and inside diameter of springs.
Andy4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 02:39 PM   #10
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy4639 View Post
I have mine just hooked up with a toggle on the dash. I bought the vacuum switch but just did away with it. It want lock up under 45MPH no way with the B&M kit. I assume you have the internal wiring done already to the transmission for this. I had it done while they built the transmission.
thats how i'm going to do mine except i'm adding a brake switch too
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:00 PM   #11
Andy4639
Orignal Goof member
 
Andy4639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Liberty, & Garden City S.C. , U.S.
Posts: 11,802
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Why do you want a brake switch. Mine works fine even without it.
__________________
1971 LWB Custom, 6.0LS & 4L80E,Tach, GPS speedometer with A/C. 20" Boss 338's Grey wheels. My Driver
Seeing the USA in a 71


Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013 and 2014 Hot Rod Pour Tour


http://upstategmtrucks.com/
www.speedhutgauges.com


Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

After talking to tech support at Air Lift I have found out that the kit I need is 60811. Per the measurements I gave them. Ride height of truck inside spring and inside diameter of springs.
Andy4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:12 PM   #12
Indyuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 583
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Americanmuscle, GENERALLY, power goes to your (A) pin, top left on your pic. Ground is bottom left on your pic, I believe it's (D). And (B) is top right, part of the tranny overheat circuit. The reason I say generally is because GM had like 37 different ways they wired up the TCC. So double check.

If you want to control the TCC with a toggle switch, run power to (A) through a toggle switch, and put a jumper between the other two contacts.

The torque converter will lockup only when the tranny is in fourth AND you have the toggle flipped on.

Wire it up like this without the toggle and the converter will lock up every time it shifts to fourth gear. Hope this helps.

Last edited by Indyuke; 03-20-2009 at 07:12 PM.
Indyuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:05 PM   #13
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy4639 View Post
Why do you want a brake switch. Mine works fine even without it.
in case i forget to flip the switch when i have to slam on my brakes
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:21 PM   #14
Indyuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 583
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

I think what andy means is, if it's wired to only lock up in fourth, as soon as you slam on your brakes, the transmission downshifts and the torque converter unlocks. Then when you get going again it upshifts and locks up again. Don't need a brake switch.
Indyuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 04:03 AM   #15
Andy4639
Orignal Goof member
 
Andy4639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Liberty, & Garden City S.C. , U.S.
Posts: 11,802
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Correct if the truck is ever out of fourth gear it want ,Shouldn't lockup at all. I can even back up with the switch on.
__________________
1971 LWB Custom, 6.0LS & 4L80E,Tach, GPS speedometer with A/C. 20" Boss 338's Grey wheels. My Driver
Seeing the USA in a 71


Upstate SC GM Truck Club
2013 and 2014 Hot Rod Pour Tour


http://upstategmtrucks.com/
www.speedhutgauges.com


Get out and drive the truck this summer and have some fun!
It sucks not being able to hear!

After talking to tech support at Air Lift I have found out that the kit I need is 60811. Per the measurements I gave them. Ride height of truck inside spring and inside diameter of springs.
Andy4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:45 AM   #16
LEEVON
Senior Member
 
LEEVON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nixa, MO (Springfield area)
Posts: 4,138
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

If you don't want to mess with a switch, it's only slightly more difficult to put in a vacuum switch and brake cancel switch. I found them to be plentiful at the junkyard and free, I believe I pulled my vacuum switch from a K5, along with a tiny blue vacuum booster. 12v from pin A to the brake cancel switch, then to the vacuum switch and you're all set.
__________________
'95 Sierra ~ '09 Suburban ~ '71 Cheyenne ~ '50 3100 ~ '80 Wife ~ Late model kids
LEEVON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:58 AM   #17
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

thanks guys
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:30 PM   #18
68_c10_on20s
Registered User
 
68_c10_on20s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 773
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Im kinda in the same boat and need some advice.I am going just the opposite route and need help wiring up the 700.My truck is a 93 model and it had a v6 with a 4l60e tranny I had a 350/700 ive installed and need to wire up the lockup now.The 700 only has 3 wires going to it and the e trans had 12. I still have the cpu hooked up only becouse im using the in tank fuel pump with a regulator on a carbed motor.Now I cut the plug off the e-tranny and ran a test light on all wires and they were all hot with the key on???? there was however 3 wires that looked the same color as the wires for the 700 plug but I dont wanna burn anything up so im looking for advice before I do anything.Heres a few picts I took with my cell to kinda help out.


http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/hoopty/3.jpg


http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/hoopty/2.jpg
__________________
93 Fleet Budget Build http://s150.photobucket.com/albums/s...zted71/hoopty/
68_c10_on20s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 09:51 PM   #19
shortbed70
Registered User
 
shortbed70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. George KS
Posts: 4,299
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Hey that pic looks familiar I think its mine. I have a pressure swith tapped into the servo cover on the right side of trans and everyone is right about the wiring,top left a lower left d ,a=+,d+-. I have a pos. wire from a to switch and from other side of swith to fused battery sorce and ground to frame. locks up shortly after 4th gear. Some trans are different but if you do some research there are several kits to do this.
__________________
Troy

1998 honda accord my driver (gas milage)
2007 Dodge charger 3.5L
2003 Dodge 2500 HEMI
1965 Chevy Bagged,361 sbc,comp cam 280H,1.5 full roller rockers,patriot 185cc vortec heads 2.02-1.60,vortec weiand polished intake,demon carb

my truckhttp://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=332884

Big Red Dog build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=572274
shortbed70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:26 PM   #20
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring



just kidding,



this is a funny time to bring this up!!! my 700r4 is at the transmission shop because it started leaking around the front seal area, So I took pictures of how it was hooked up when I took the transmission out. BUT MY BROTHER DELETED ALL THE PICTURES I TOOK!!!! so I will have to look it up again.

the inside pin is not used. and one pin should be grounded and one needs a hot wire for lockup.

I'd recommend not using your computer, and hooking the lockup to a toggle switch. you don't need a brake switch or a vacuum switch, and it will lock up in 3rd or 4th gear.

I'll look it up again soon (probably Sunday), right now I'm working 13hr days baling hay and I don't have much time
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:29 PM   #21
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortbed70 View Post
Hey that pic looks familiar I think its mine. I have a pressure swith tapped into the servo cover on the right side of trans and everyone is right about the wiring,top left a lower left d ,a=+,d+-. I have a pos. wire from a to switch and from other side of swith to fused battery sorce and ground to frame. locks up shortly after 4th gear. Some trans are different but if you do some research there are several kits to do this.
yeah sorry, I borrowed someone's picture. I don't remember who's it was
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:41 PM   #22
jojo
printing is my trade
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 319
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Haha it is an old thread but I'm glad ya'll dug this old thread up anyway because I just had my 700r installed by the tranny shop and I got questions. The shop didn't wire anything nothing is plugged in accept the speedo cable and the tv cable. And it runs okay.

Am I causing damage by not having it wired?

Why would I want it to lock up?

I've had it up on the highway and it seems to stay in 4th so why would I want it to not lock up (ie switched)?

You mentioned it locks up in 3rd or 4th, is that determined by the shop that rebuilt it?

What is the purpose of the brake or vacuum switch and is that the 3rd connection on that plug?
__________________
Jojo's '70 stepside build thread: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=344184
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:41 PM   #23
BAGNDRAGIT
Just Not Low Enough!
 
BAGNDRAGIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 525
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

hope this helps...



__________________
NEED ELECTRICAL HELP? ASK ME!
67-72 Full Wiring Diagrams
Lots Of Info, TAKE A LOOK
1967 Chevy C-10 Shortbox Bagged 327 4spd
Previous:
1971 Chevy C-10 Short Sep I6 Auto (Traded)
1973 Chevy C-20 *THE REDNECK BATTLE TRUCK*
2001 Chevy Silverado 2Dr 5.3L Shortbox. R.I.P.
1969 Volkswagen Bug
This is my first meeting, I have a horsepower problem.
BAGNDRAGIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:54 PM   #24
americanmusc1e
Senior Member
 
americanmusc1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 843
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by jojo View Post
Haha it is an old thread but I'm glad ya'll dug this old thread up anyway because I just had my 700r installed by the tranny shop and I got questions. The shop didn't wire anything nothing is plugged in accept the speedo cable and the tv cable. And it runs okay.

Am I causing damage by not having it wired?

Why would I want it to lock up?

I've had it up on the highway and it seems to stay in 4th so why would I want it to not lock up (ie switched)?

You mentioned it locks up in 3rd or 4th, is that determined by the shop that rebuilt it?

What is the purpose of the brake or vacuum switch and is that the 3rd connection on that plug?

some say that you are not supposed to drive in 4th without a converter lockup (something to do with the tranny overheat problems since the 700r4 was designed to be locked up in 4th gear)

when you lock it up you will get better mileage because the engine and transmission are "locked" together. if its not locked up the converter will slip and you will waste some mileage, usually when the converter locks up in 4th you will drop 400-500rpm

all 700r4's should lock up in 3rd and 4th (I think, somebody correct me if I'm wrong)

the third connection on the plug powered a transmission overheat warning light (or gauge) when used in the factory application.
__________________
-- Josh

OLD SKOOL----(1969 K10-- 383, SM465, NP208, 10b 3.73, 12b locked 3.73, 5" lift, 35x15.5x15 TSLs)
FARM TRUCK----1949 Chevrolet 3800 stakebed--inherited farm truck
THE BEAST----Dad's K20 Suburban project.
06 Chevy HHR -- daily driver

Country boy doing IT work in a big city..

instead of a build thread I have a facebook page..... http://www.facebook.com/pages/Old-Skool/199905603376935
americanmusc1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 12:19 AM   #25
68_c10_on20s
Registered User
 
68_c10_on20s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 773
Re: 700r4 lockup wiring

ok so let me get this straight outa the 3 wires going to the tranny only 2 are needed if you have no gauge?This is my other question if you want it to lockup then why not just have a wire thats hot when the key is on? Ive had a few 700s in older trucks and never had a toggle switch but the tach always showed the drop in rpms on hwy speed.But then again ive always had the shops do the work too.

Now again I had a 94 and when i was on the freeway and had the cruise on if i tapped the brakes to turn the cruise off it would disengage the lockup i do know that.I am assuming thats what the brake switch it for right?

This has got me boggled and confused but it should be very simple right?

Heres another question to throw in the mix i do not have my kick down cable hooked up yet since i just got the truck running and when i leave off the line easy it goes thru all the gears very fast once i get this hooked up and adjusted right it should hold the gears longer right?


btw i took a pick of the plug and labled the wires now just witch ones to wire up to what?


http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/hoopty/4.jpg
__________________
93 Fleet Budget Build http://s150.photobucket.com/albums/s...zted71/hoopty/
68_c10_on20s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com