The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2010, 02:21 AM   #1
Ackattack
Senior Member
 
Ackattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Valley Center KS
Posts: 3,525
Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

This write up describes how to hook up a cruise control switch to a drive by wire (DBW) 5.3L engine.

My harness is from a 2004 silverado. Other vehicles should be similar, but you’ll want to verify your pin out numbering on the TAC module yourself.

I used a turn signal with cruise control handle is from Digital Dakota “HND-3”. This allowed this handle to be installed onto my van tilt column. The problem that I later realized with this handle is the set/coast and resume/accelerate do not work as they should to be compatible with the GM wiring harness. There may be other handles that work with the GM harness, but I already had the Digital Dakota handle so I wanted to use it.

Basically, I used two relays to change the signals from the handle from normally open to normally closed. It’s not quite as simple as that since the handle powers the “resume/accelerate” when you push the “resume accelerate” button as well as the “set/coast button”. But the relays account for this too.

So here are the parts you need:
Qty 1 Digital Dakota turn signal handle with cruise DAK-HND-3
Qty 2 Relays (I used PCO-5591PT since it included a connector to the relay)



Various butt and splice connectors and extra length of wires if needed

Tools:
Wire Stripping tool / crimp tool
Test light
Paint pen
Wiring diagram of ECM and cruise circuit

and this diagram:




Step 1
Install the handle, ECM, and TAC modlule.
All of my stuff was installed prior to hooking up the cruise control and the truck was running/driving great without it.



Step 2
Find a suitable location for the relays.
I mounted mine to the same mount that my ECM and TAC module is mounted to, which is in the cab out of the weather. I used a couple of self tapping screws through the relay mounting holes into the sheet metal.

Step 3
I numbered the relay connectors so I didn’t get confused with the paint pen. I also removed the wires not needed from each connector.



If you are using the same relays I used, remove the yellow wire from connector 1 (contact 87) and the pink/orange wire from connector 2 (contact 87a)





Step 4

Wire up the relays as shown in the attached wiring diagram but don’t connect the wires to the TAC module.
I used a EZ brand wiring harness and it included a “cruise power” wire. I connect this to the red wire of the handle.
The yellow wire of connector 2 to the yellow wire of the handle
Both green wires to the green wire of the handle
Pink wire of connector 1 to the brown wire of the handle
Blue wires of each connector to ground




Step 5
Test your initial relay wiring with your test light. You will probably have to have your ignition switch on in order to power the cruise circuit.
You want to verify that the brown/pink wire has power when you turn the switch to “on”
Next, verify the red wire of connector 1 is hot when you push the “set/cruise” button on the end of the handle.
Finally, verify the red wire of connector to is hot when you slide the slider on the handle to “resume/accelerate”.
If these don’t check out, check your wiring and connections.




Step 6: Connect wires to TAC module
Connect the brown/pink wire to pin 14 of the TAC module (Grey wire)
Connect the red wire of connector 1 to pin 4 of the TAC module (Dark Blue wire)
Connect the red wire of connector 2 to pin 5 of the TAC module (Grey/Black wire)




Step 7 One last connection
There is one last wire from the TAC module that must be connected. It is a light blue wire from pin 6 of the TAC module. This wire connects to the brake switch wire that is hot only when the brakes are pushed. You’ll have to use your test light to determine which wire this is on your brake switch (especially if you are also running a transmission with a lockup converter) Not to hard to figure out, but this wire should be hot only when the brake pedal is pushed. This wire was labeled “brake switch” on my EZ wiring harness.

Step 8 Test it out on the road
Pretty much take out the vehicle and make sure all of the functions work. I suggest you take some tools with you and have your hand ready to turn off the ignition if something doesn’t work right as if you have not wired it up correctly there is a possibility of the cruise staying on and not being able to stop. If this happens, don’t panic, turn off your vehicle and pull over and figure out what you did wrong. Hopefully since we tested things in step 5 you won’t have a problem.

Last edited by Ackattack; 04-18-2010 at 02:34 AM.
Ackattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 02:36 AM   #2
Ackattack
Senior Member
 
Ackattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Valley Center KS
Posts: 3,525
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Printable wiring diagram
Attached Images
File Type: pdf MODIFIED CRUISE DIAGRAM.pdf (57.9 KB, 1117 views)
Ackattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:54 AM   #3
Hart_Rod
*************
 
Hart_Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 16,660
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Great write up! I'll be doing this soon....
__________________
Rob - http://instagram.com/hart_rod
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So One Man Sharpens Another. Proverbs 27:17

FOR SALE: DBW pedal bracket, Pedal adapter for LS trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=651123
FOR SALE: ChubTubz, Rear tubs for slammed trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=675754
FOR SALE: Hood Brackets, Bolt in hood brackets! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=679945


1969 SuperBurb - 5.3/Magnacharger..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=200387
1968 Farm truck: LS3/6L80/TVS1900: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=358692
1968 SWB - SHIFTED: PB Xtreme DM/LS1/Dakota Digital/AccuAir/Vintage Air/...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=551258
1948 5 Window Chevy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=122164&page=3
FAQ: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/f...play.php?f=220
Hart_Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:59 AM   #4
rockc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SE WY
Posts: 517
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Good write up.
__________________
72 chevy 3/4 ton 4X4
rockc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 12:33 PM   #5
Thealien
Senior Member
 
Thealien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA, East coast
Posts: 2,638
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Thanks for adding this. I need to clean things up and add some more info also!!
Thealien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:46 PM   #6
eagleuh1
Registered User
 
eagleuh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Russellville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,703
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Good write up. I might be there soon as I get laid off and get back home to work on mine.
eagleuh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:28 PM   #7
chevydog66
GM ONLY BABY!!!
 
chevydog66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,997
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Anyway to hook up cruise control on a 01 drive by cable?
__________________
2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do.

66 Chevelle Malibu 406ci, 573hp, 10.99@121mph
96 Chevy Silverado Z71
72 GMC 1500 Super Custom LS 6.0/4L65 on airride

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/707879...mc-c-k-pick-up
chevydog66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:17 AM   #8
HarleyHauler
Registered User
 
HarleyHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 60
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevydog66 View Post
Anyway to hook up cruise control on a 01 drive by cable?
Bringing this thread back hoping someone can answer, as I am looking for the same info.

Anyway to hook up cruise control on a drive by cable? (Instead of DBW)
HarleyHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:00 AM   #9
MARKDTN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,601
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyHauler View Post
Bringing this thread back hoping someone can answer, as I am looking for the same info.

Anyway to hook up cruise control on a drive by cable? (Instead of DBW)
I put that style cruise control on my '83 TPI truck and another TPI vehicle. I don't exactly know what years it covers. Maybe late 80s-early 2000s non-vacuum, cable on TB? It is very simple. You basically just need a 4000 pulse per mile signal, brake signal, and power and ground. On the first one, I made my own harness using the '96 Caprice shop manual. On the second I used a stand-alone harness from an early '90s pickup truck. If you have a junkyard with these trucks, that is the direction I would reccomend. Using that harness, here is what I did:
1-mount the unit and hook it to the throttle body. Those CC units are used in a variety of cars with a variety of cables. Hunt around and find what will fit best. I have a Vortec truck unit in 1 vehicle and a Olds Ciera unit in the truck.
2-Hook up power and ground. Probably have to change the end on the power so it can plug into the fuse box. I think ground went to the block.
3-Get the brake switch from the donor vehicle and splice it into the brake light side. (orange and white wires). The brake pedal signal is needed, but is opposite of the brake light. Brake light is open with pedal in non-pushed position. Cruise needs power with pedal not pushed.
4-Hook up pulse signal. On speed-density TPI and early TBI, this is the same signal as the transmission/back of speedometer generates. Mass air TPI is 2000 pulses/mile and late TBI, Vortec, etc. is like 40,000. All of these have an output on the ECM/PCM for this 4K/mi signal regardless of the input. In my opinion, don't tap into the input, just get this as an output of the computer. On a non-computer vehicle you could possibly use a 4k/mile pulse generator off the speedo cable, but I have never tried it.
5-switches. If you can find a stalk to fit your vehicle, you can use it and not cut anything. If you can't and want to just put switches, the basics of operation of this system are simple. You need an on/off switch and a double acting momentary switch. The on/off is just that. The momentary gives 12V one way and you get set/coast and 12V the other way is for resume/accelerate. GM is very good at keeping wire colors standard, so if you can find a shop manual for any of these, you can get the colors.

If you have any questions, I will try and answer them.
__________________
'83 K20-TPI
'79 C10-ex-diesel(SOLD)
'01 Tahoe
'07 Tahoe-DD
MARKDTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:20 AM   #10
usmcchevy
Has more rust than truck...
 
usmcchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ivanhoe, MN
Posts: 2,423
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Looks like its being worked on.

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=455725
__________________
1972 Custom/10 SWB, 4.8/4l80e
Build thread

LSx Swap FAQ index
usmcchevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:52 AM   #11
chevydog66
GM ONLY BABY!!!
 
chevydog66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,997
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

I think a few have done it over at the LS1tech site. Try searching over there in the Hybrids section.
__________________
2 wrongs don't make a right, but 3 lefts do.

66 Chevelle Malibu 406ci, 573hp, 10.99@121mph
96 Chevy Silverado Z71
72 GMC 1500 Super Custom LS 6.0/4L65 on airride

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/707879...mc-c-k-pick-up
chevydog66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:16 PM   #12
eagleuh1
Registered User
 
eagleuh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Russellville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,703
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

X2 on LS1Tech site. I've seen S10 cruise control boxes used on the engine side. But you would still need a switch. You can get the wiring diagrams off LS1Tech or AllDataDIY. I made up a cheapo simple switch below dash to run my PCM cruise with, would work on the other as well. Its in my build thread somewhere.
eagleuh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:32 PM   #13
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,023
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Maybe this will save you some searching time. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...driven-tb.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:58 PM   #14
y5mgisi
Second Chance Program
 
y5mgisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,644
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Thank you!
y5mgisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 02:59 PM   #15
prostreet1967
Registered User
 
prostreet1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: fort worth texas
Posts: 385
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

i realize this is old but the stop lamp supply voltage does that repalce the voltage supply from fuse box for standard brake lights?
prostreet1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 10:49 AM   #16
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,023
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Quote:
Originally Posted by prostreet1967 View Post
i realize this is old but the stop lamp supply voltage does that repalce the voltage supply from fuse box for standard brake lights?
No, it's a brake signal to the TAC module, you would hook it to the side of the brake switch that goes hot when the brakes are applied.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 08:21 AM   #17
doublebeetx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chandler,Tx
Posts: 76
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

I'm about to install my 4.8/4L60E in my 64 truck. I got everything from PSI yesterday(computer,harness,pedal,tac,etc) to get it up and running. I definitely want cruise once I'm driving. I found this stalk on Summit. Is it the right one ? Thanks for the information !

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/id...MobileSwitchNo
doublebeetx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 08:07 PM   #18
Janderson5137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Everything test out like it should with the test light all the switches on the cruise control lever light and unlight as it should. But take it for a test drive and we got nothing. Any ideas? Thanks
Janderson5137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 10:17 PM   #19
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,023
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janderson5137 View Post
Everything test out like it should with the test light all the switches on the cruise control lever light and unlight as it should. But take it for a test drive and we got nothing. Any ideas? Thanks
What exactly are you working on? Year, engne, trans, what switch etc.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 04:40 AM   #20
solidaxel
Registered User
 
solidaxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cactus Patch So. Az
Posts: 4,536
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Following this one !
__________________
53 TuTone Extended Cab 350 4-Spd 3:08 (SOLD)
53 Chevy Moldy pearl green ZZ-4 4L60E 9" 3:25
55 GMC 1st Black Mll ZZ4 TKO 600 5 sp 3:73
62 Solidaxle Corvette Roman Red 327
340hp 4spd 3:36
65 Corvette Coupe 327 350hp 4spd 4:11
78 Black Silverado SWB (350/350) 5.3 & 4L60E 3:42
2000 S-Type 3.0 (wifes cruiser)
2003 GMC SCSB 5.3 4L60E 3:42
solidaxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 06:57 AM   #21
Mjminino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Omaha
Posts: 531
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

I have this exact same HND-3 switch, but I am running a 2001 5.3 DBC, I am assuming that I still need to use these relays just because the brown wire supplies both?
Attached Images
     
Mjminino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 08:16 AM   #22
special-K
Special Order
 
special-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mt.Airy,MD
Posts: 61,670
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Generation who? Drive by what? I thought I knew a lot about 67-72s and like to share what I know. But I'm lost on all this 21st century stuff. Maybe the LS Swap forum hadn't started back when this thread did.
__________________
"BUILDING A BETTER WAY TO SERVE THE USA"......67/72......"The New Breed"

'67 C1500 Wideside Super Custom SWB: 327/M22/3.42 posi...project 'Driver Quality'
'72 K2500 Wideside Sierra Custom Camper: 350/TH350/4.10 Power-Lok...'The 72'
Tim

"Don't call me a redneck. I'm just a rough cut country gentleman"

R.I.P. East Side Low Life __________ R.I.P. El Jay_____________ R.I.P. 72BLUZ _____________
special-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 09:04 AM   #23
Hart_Rod
*************
 
Hart_Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 16,660
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mjminino View Post
I have this exact same HND-3 switch, but I am running a 2001 5.3 DBC, I am assuming that I still need to use these relays just because the brown wire supplies both?

Check here:

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...cruise+control

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...cruise+control

Quote:
Originally Posted by special-K View Post
Generation who? Drive by what? I thought I knew a lot about 67-72s and like to share what I know. But I'm lost on all this 21st century stuff. Maybe the LS Swap forum hadn't started back when this thread did.
It wasn't. It should probably be moved.
__________________
Rob - http://instagram.com/hart_rod
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So One Man Sharpens Another. Proverbs 27:17

FOR SALE: DBW pedal bracket, Pedal adapter for LS trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=651123
FOR SALE: ChubTubz, Rear tubs for slammed trucks! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=675754
FOR SALE: Hood Brackets, Bolt in hood brackets! http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=679945


1969 SuperBurb - 5.3/Magnacharger..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=200387
1968 Farm truck: LS3/6L80/TVS1900: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=358692
1968 SWB - SHIFTED: PB Xtreme DM/LS1/Dakota Digital/AccuAir/Vintage Air/...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=551258
1948 5 Window Chevy http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=122164&page=3
FAQ: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/f...play.php?f=220
Hart_Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 11:17 AM   #24
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,023
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

Yes, you will still need the relays. Use the color schematic in the second pic, and wire your cruise module the same as he has his TAC wired.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 11:19 AM   #25
Mjminino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Omaha
Posts: 531
Re: Gen 3 Drive By Wire cruise control HOW TO

You still selling your set up?
Mjminino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com