The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-04-2011, 11:32 PM   #1
sduckworth13

Broke my rocker arm stud today

What are the chances that I won't have to pull my head to get this rocker arm stud fixed. I've not exactly sure how this would happen other than slamming downing the pedal and smoking the tires off. What causes the rocker arm stud to break off. I'm not a mechanic, but would this be caused from not having the rocker arm not properly torqued. What is my best option in this situation? repair the stud or replace the heads entirely with a used set.
Attached Images

Last edited by sduckworth13; 07-04-2011 at 11:39 PM.
sduckworth13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 05:48 AM   #2
Lee H

Re: Broke my rocker arm stud today

You'll have to pull the hard and take to a machine shop.
Posted via Mobile Device

1965 Corvette roadster, 44K miles, 327/365 SHP, 4 speed, side exhaust, knockoffs, teak, second owner (bought in 1970), Have ALL numbers matching components.

My frame off restoration thread: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=556703
Lee H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:23 AM   #3
shortbed70

Since there's no threads probably going to have to pull it off. Are your rocker arm nuts rounded on the bottom also? Looks like it's upside down. Been a while since I've seen regular rocker arm nuts.
Posted via Mobile Device

1965 Chevy Bagged,361 sbc,voodoo cam,1.5 full roller rockers,patriot 185cc vortec heads 2.02-1.60,vortec weiand polished intake,demon carb

my truckhttp://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=332884

Big Red Dog build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=572274
shortbed70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:09 PM   #4
fastwillie 696969

push in stud or screw in > ?