The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 10:59 PM   #1
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
LS factory cruise control hook up

I made this diagram for Clyde65, but thought others might be able to use it. This is just a schematic drawn to hopefully be a little clearer than the factory service manual. This is how to hook up a factory cruise control module for cable throttle body's. It's really fairly simple, you just need to make sure you get the right module. I personally used one from an Astro van, but mid 90's and up S-10's use the same module. The one you want will NOT have a wire in the "H" terminal of the module plug (see 2nd pic, notice the missing wire in the middle). Once you have that you'll need a 4 prong brake light switch, it will have 2 normally open and 2 normally closed terminals. These can be found in alot of 70's and up GM cars and trucks.

To run the factory cruise you need a 4000 pulse per mile signal. This comes straight out of the PCM, it's the signal to the speedo, radio ect. On a '99 to '02 truck, and F bodies it's the C2 connector (the red one) pin 50 dark green/white. The one at C2 49 is a 128k ppm and is only used for ABS, Don't try to use it.

You'll need a 4 wire cruise control switch to turn it on and off. If you have a '83 or newer column and it has cruise on it, it should be a 4 wire. For older columns that use a single screw to hold the turn signal lever the '81-'82 trucks and vans have a lever that can be converted that will work. I posted a "how to" here. http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=cruise+switch

Other than that it's a matter of hooking up the cable to the TB and mounting the module.

This will work on almost any EFI engine that has a 4k PPM speed signal so if you have a TPI, LT1, or LS, all GM's use that signal.

I have this same set up on my own car and have about $50 max in the whole thing, and it works way better than the aftermarket cruise I have on another car. this cruise works flawlessly! set it and it stays there and doesn't fluxuate like the aftermarket.
Attached Images
    
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html

Last edited by ls1nova71; 02-27-2012 at 11:11 PM.
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:05 PM   #2
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

The brake light switch that you will need and pics of the lever. Also it should be noted that you can't run LED brake lights with this system, because the module needs to see a ground through the G terminal, and LEDs don't have enough resistance.
Attached Images
   
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:43 AM   #3
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 7,572
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

You are an angel! A manly, tough angel but an angel none the less.



One question, will a 99-02 GM truck module work also? Would it be different in any way?
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
Clyde65

69 Aristocrat Lo Liner build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 11:29 AM   #4
Notch1988
Registered User
 
Notch1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lacombe, Alberta
Posts: 298
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

VERY helpfull thread... sticky???
Notch1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:23 PM   #5
usmcchevy
Has more rust than truck...
 
usmcchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ivanhoe, MN
Posts: 2,423
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notch1988 View Post
VERY helpfull thread... sticky???
Done! Once I get a chance I'll link this in the LSx FAQ. Thanks Ls1nova71!
__________________
1972 Custom/10 SWB, 4.8/4l80e
Build thread

LSx Swap FAQ index
usmcchevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:21 AM   #6
1BADLS1tuner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alliance NE
Posts: 48
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Good info! Thanks!
1BADLS1tuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:45 AM   #7
awhite4557
Senior Member
 
awhite4557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Odessa, Texas
Posts: 203
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

In reference to post #2, LED lights, you can use LED lights with these cruise controls using a relay to allow the cruise to find the ground. Here is the diagram. I used it on my truck and it worked. Hope this helps. (my truck is DBW but this should still work).
Attached Images
 
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100 Ramp Bed 1-ton
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=749386
1965 Chevy Step Side
1971 Chevy Short Wide Bed
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=277191
1971 Chevy Chevelle
1972 Chevrolet C-30 1 ton
2002 Winnebego Class A MH Ford E-550 Chassis V-10
2008 GMC Denali
2015 Chevrolet Silverado High Country 4x4
awhite4557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:58 PM   #8
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clyde65 View Post


One question, will a 99-02 GM truck module work also? Would it be different in any way?
Posted via Mobile Device
I checked my schematics and '99-02 trucks don't show a wire in the" H" terminal, so they should work. But verify on your plug to be sure.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:15 PM   #9
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhite4557 View Post
In reference to post #2, LED lights, you can use LED lights with these cruise controls using a relay to allow the cruise to find the ground. Here is the diagram. I used it on my truck and it worked. Hope this helps. (my truck is DBW but this should still work).
You are corrrect. I didn't mention it because relays have the ability to confuse the heck out of some people. On this set up, if you were only using the relay for a load, you could just tap it into the brake light wiring, in either the right or left brake light, it doesnt matter you only need one, and just use the 85 and 86 terminals of the relay, the module would see ground with enough resistance through the relay coil. If someone wants me to draw a diagram i will, just let me know.

lMy personal car doesn't have the brake switch I showed, it has the switch under the floor, and you can only find single switches, so I used that with a relay to control the TCC, and the cruise is tapped into that. But I think if you're unsure of your wiring abilities its best to keep it simple. BTW, nice diagram, I wish I knew how to draw stuff on the computer but I don't so you all get my hand drawn diagrams.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 04:03 PM   #10
Clyde65
1965 Chevy C10, 2005 4.8L/4l60
 
Clyde65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 7,572
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Your right LS1nove, it dosnt have a wire in that one spot. So cool, I have it all in there and ready but like I said before, wiring was too confusing. I will wire it the next day off I have...if I have one.
__________________
Clyde65

69 Aristocrat Lo Liner build
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...84#post7561684



support our troops!
Clyde65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:56 PM   #11
duwem
Registered User
 
duwem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 346
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Anyone have this for drive by wire throttle bodies with TAC modules? (example 2002 LQ9 engine)
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100-Transforming into a hot rod.

Build Thread: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=435302
duwem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:35 PM   #12
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by duwem View Post
Anyone have this for drive by wire throttle bodies with TAC modules? (example 2002 LQ9 engine)
It's even easier with DBW. It's 3 wires coming out of the TAC module and a power. I can post which wires later tonight if someone doesn't beat me to it.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:38 PM   #13
duwem
Registered User
 
duwem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 346
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Do you know that from experience or is that info just from looking at the diagram?

Thats the thougth I had as well, but whether computer wise it actually works in real life or not I have not gotten answered.

This is a big part of my decision (if cruise works with DBW) to keep the DBW or put a cable throttle body on.

Thanks,
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100-Transforming into a hot rod.

Build Thread: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=435302
duwem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:29 PM   #14
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by duwem View Post
Do you know that from experience or is that info just from looking at the diagram?

Thats the thougth I had as well, but whether computer wise it actually works in real life or not I have not gotten answered.

This is a big part of my decision (if cruise works with DBW) to keep the DBW or put a cable throttle body on.

Thanks,
Yes, my blue truck (build thread in my sig) had DBW and the cruise worked perfectly. The key is to have the right switch. What column are you using?

On your 2002, the wires on the TAC you need are, connector C1 (the engine harness one, not the one going to the pedal) pin 4 dark blue wire is the set/coast, pin 5 gray/black wire is the resume/accel, and pin 14 gray wire is the on/off. You will need an ignition 12v source to power these through the switch. You also have to have the brake lights hooked up and the correct brake light switch for it to work, but that's really all there is to it.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 11:50 AM   #15
awhite4557
Senior Member
 
awhite4557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Odessa, Texas
Posts: 203
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

My set up is from an 01 Suburban DBW. I used the control switch period correct for my column and followed Ackatack's wiring on his post and my cruise works great. Of course I had to use the relays for the LED lights and relays for his diagram to reverse the polarity of the switch to match the TAC. Here is a link to his post http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=398006
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100 Ramp Bed 1-ton
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=749386
1965 Chevy Step Side
1971 Chevy Short Wide Bed
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=277191
1971 Chevy Chevelle
1972 Chevrolet C-30 1 ton
2002 Winnebego Class A MH Ford E-550 Chassis V-10
2008 GMC Denali
2015 Chevrolet Silverado High Country 4x4
awhite4557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:08 PM   #16
farmtrucks
Registered User
 
farmtrucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sneedville, TN
Posts: 724
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Please do a wiring diagram for DBW
farmtrucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:16 PM   #17
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

I'm out of town this weekend. Will get a diagram posted on monday.
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:14 PM   #18
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmtrucks View Post
Please do a wiring diagram for DBW
I really can't make a DBW schematic any easier than the factory service manual. If you already have the engine harness in the truck and it's running, you should be able to hook up the 3 wires from the TAC module to the cruise control lever switch along with a power and it will work. In this schematic, the wire on the far right where it comes out of the 'Fuse Block-I/P' and is labled 'VEH STOP fuse 15a' (f9 c1) this is the wire you would hook to the brake light switch, on the side that is hot (12v) when the brakes are applied. The TAC has to see a ground through the brake lights on this wire, so if you don't have any brake lights, it wont work. I fell for this myself before I put the bed on my blue truck, and then I remembered I needed brakelights!

If you have any questions, just ask and I'll try to walk you through any problems that you may have.
Attached Images
 
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:59 PM   #19
farmtrucks
Registered User
 
farmtrucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sneedville, TN
Posts: 724
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Am I correct

4 wire cruise switch ---- TAC
Red - ------ ------- -12 volt
Blue - ------ ------ -14/cruise on
Green - ----------- -4/set-coast
Yellow - -------- -5/resume-accell
Then hook hot w/brake applied to - 6
farmtrucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:06 PM   #20
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmtrucks View Post
Am I correct

4 wire cruise switch ---- TAC
Red - ------ ------- -12 volt
Blue - ------ ------ -14/cruise on
Green - ----------- -4/set-coast
Yellow - -------- -5/resume-accell
Then hook hot w/brake applied to - 6
If you're talking about the small wires coming off the actual switch inside the lever, then it's Blue- is the 12v ignition, Green- is On/Off, would go to pin #5 on the TAC, Red- is the Set/Coast, would go to pin #4, and Yellow- is Resume/Accel, would go to pin #14. And then you are correct, hook hot with brakes applied to pin #6.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:30 PM   #21
code4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: kalispell, Montana
Posts: 54
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

We have set several of these up without using the stalk switch on hotrods. Just a toggle switch on the gray wire (on/off) & momentary push button on the dk blue to engage cruise. Just don't have resume/accel option which we didn't care about.
code4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:24 PM   #22
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by code4 View Post
We have set several of these up without using the stalk switch on hotrods. Just a toggle switch on the gray wire (on/off) & momentary push button on the dk blue to engage cruise. Just don't have resume/accel option which we didn't care about.
Or you could just put another momentary switch on the green and have resume and accel too!
Posted via Mobile Device
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:43 PM   #23
duwem
Registered User
 
duwem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 346
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Well this is encouraging that I can easily have cruise with DBW.

Now someone needs to figure out how I can manually blip the throttle from the engine bay to impress my buddies when there looking at the engine with the hood up like you can on a cable setup...
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100-Transforming into a hot rod.

Build Thread: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=435302
duwem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:05 PM   #24
farmtrucks
Registered User
 
farmtrucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sneedville, TN
Posts: 724
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Well it looks like I'm out of luck
my PSI harness doesn't have wires in the 5 & 6 pin
farmtrucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 06:22 PM   #25
ls1nova71
Senior Member
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 3,332
Re: LS factory cruise control hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmtrucks View Post
Well it looks like I'm out of luck
my PSI harness doesn't have wires in the 5 & 6 pin
Add them. You can get a wire with a terminal out of another PCM harness at a junk yard and add them to the TAC plug, then wire them up.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10 (avatar truck)
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com