The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   HEI Distributors (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=713286)

thedudeabides86 07-24-2016 05:31 PM

HEI Distributors

Hey everybody. I've got a '72 Chevy pickup with a 350 and points style distributor in it. If I want to convert it over to an HEI distributor, what do I need to do and what's the best brand to go with? I've got no experience with installing an HEI and it seems like I need to wire it into the battery? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Dave in Ozark 07-24-2016 05:37 PM

Re: HEI Distributors

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...ad.php?t=17403

dmjlambert 07-24-2016 06:23 PM

The electrical part: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=708975

truckster 07-24-2016 06:24 PM

I'm putting a Skip White distributor in mine:

http://www.skipwhiteperformance.com/...px?Item=6500-R

Instructions are on the web page as well.

davepl 07-24-2016 06:30 PM

Go GM if you can. Avoid no-name Chinese units... I'd take a well used GM HEI over a no-name unit any day. I've heard good things about Skip White, but no personal experience.

Stocker 07-24-2016 07:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by davepl (Post 7663415)
Go GM if you can. Avoid no-name Chinese units... I'd take a well used GM HEI over a no-name unit any day. I've heard good things about Skip White, but no personal experience.

x2. Many years ago I picked up a used 1980-something GM HEI and it's still going strong.

WorkinLonghorn 07-24-2016 07:30 PM

If you go with a cheap Distrib, Skip White or others, carry a spare module with you. Don't ask . Brian

Boog 07-24-2016 08:34 PM