The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/index.php)
-   The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   86 GMC Sierra Classic 2500 questions (https://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/showthread.php?t=641612)

gmcnoob 08-31-2014 10:43 AM

86 GMC Sierra Classic 2500 questions

Hey guys. I'm still learning and am not an experienced mechanic by any means. Just curious if I took my truck to the shop how much should I expect to pay to have the brakes completely redone. Worst case scenario or most likely scenario. I actually think the brakes just need to be bled properly. I have the worst luck trying to fix things but I'm trying and learning a lot. I tried to bench bleed the master cylinder and bleed the brakes starting with the right rear and could not get any fluid to come out. I assume it must be my error so I'll have AAA tow it to my local shop. Just curious as to what I might expect.

Also as winter will be coming up soon I want to get the heat working again. It just stopped one day for an unknown reason. Are there a few simple things I could check first like a fuse? I looked at the fuse box and some of the descriptions were obvious and some of them I have no idea what they mean. Where should I start to diagnose this problem?

Thanks for any advise.

jsavage977 08-31-2014 01:15 PM

Re: 86 GMC Sierra Classic 2500 questions