The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-20-2022, 08:23 PM   #1
fstalfire

Help with resistors

I'm swapping an LS motor into my '71 C10....my fuel gauge apparently is 3o ohm and my new electric fuel pump is 90ohm....a search here for nfo led me to the solution that a 45ohm resistor would fix my issue...my problem now s I've never used a resistor before and when i google search a 45 ohm resistor i find ones you use in circuit boards and no info on what i'm looking for or how to connect it to my wire harness
...so, whar type of resistor do i need for automotive application?
what wattage resistor do i need?
how do you connect it to your wire harness?
fstalfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 10:34 PM   #2
pjmoreland

Re: Help with resistors

If you connect one end of a 45-Ohm resistor to your sender wire and the other end of the resistor to ground, then your gauge will show full when the tank is full. The gauge will tend to show a higher level of fuel than there actually is in the tank for anything between full and empty. For example, the gauge will read half when your tank is actually at 1/4.

Anyway, if your fuel gauge works like a stock gauge, then the 12V that powers the gauge passes through the 30-Ohm resistance of the gauge winding and then it runs to the sender. That means the current flowing through the 30-Ohm gauge plus the 45-Ohm resistor you're adding is passing through a total of 30 + 45 = 75 Ohms. To calculate the current, use the equation V = I x R:

14.5V = I x 75
I = 0.193 Amps

To calculate the wattage for the 45-Ohm resistor use the equation P = I^2R:

P = 0.193^2 x 45 = 1.682 Watts