The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-10-2020, 03:56 PM   #1
PanelDeland
I am a Referee of life.

Proportioning valve/Combination valve

So to explain. I have a 68 C10. It has been upgraded to discs in front (about 12-14 years ago). I used a McGuaghey's drop spindles and brake kit that uses the factory 68 brake lines. I also added power with a MC, booster and bracket from "Right Stuff" which came with an adjustable proportionng valve. I never felt like the brakes were where they should be but they worked well just had way more pedal travel than I thought they should. Like manual brakes. I'm needing to rebuild the rear brakes and thought while I had the system open I would address that also. I've not had much luck figuring out whether the factory Combination type valves have the residual valve built in. "Right Stuff' Doesn't sell a prop valve for it. POL says theirs is right but doesn't have the residual valves built into the combination valve. It also is a dual outlet to front disc that would require I block off one line or replace the front brake lines (that would mean the brake lines would come out in a different place and require new brake hoses (I think). I know this isn't rocket science, too many on here have done it. but getting the right combination valve doesn't seem to be an easy task. I don't want to have to spend $300 for a new booster MC and Combination valve to get it right.
Barrett-Jackson has perfected alchemy,they make rust into gold!
"You can lead a horse to water but you can't saddle a duck"
"Cleverly disguised as a 'Responsible Adult'
"Sometimes your Knight in shining armor is just a retard in tinfoil"
PanelDeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 04:12 PM   #2