The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-13-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Cheeseman

Project "Home Wrecker"

I have been meaning to get a build thread started for a while but as we all know, life gets in the way. A short introduction to myself is that I am a midwestern farmer and have been into vehicle customization and motor sports (mainly offroad as of recent) my whole life. I decided last fall to part with my rock buggy and build a street truck, so this is the begining of my build and I will update as things take place....feel free to comment, poke fun or just call be out if you see that I am doing something way wrong or is a safety risk to others

I found an add on CL that had a "67 project truck" so I called and the guy lived in Alaska, it was at his moms and it was in the back of a field...and no title, cash only. Sounds a bit fishy, but I loaded the trailer and drove 3 hours with cash (and a .45 just in case) and once I got there everything was legit and even got a bill of sale. So it came with about 10 totes of parts and the bed was jammed full of parts...most unusable.

Once home I realized this was not what I wanted other then the bed, so I took it off and started on a search for another SWB that was a bit more complete. I stumbled across a 69 SWB that was again 3 hours away but this time the other direction. So once again off with the trailer and scored this truck that had been sitting in a guys barn awaiting a restoration and he gave up on it. Once home and a $50 tune up, we found out the fun way it has posi!