The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-30-2020, 09:14 AM   #1
03BlkZ

Flame arrestor at passenger side valve cover

Ok gents please excuse my ignorance but I got a question. I am in the process of reassembling my 70 C10 from its restoration and I need to know if in need this guy or not. Looks like a flame arrestor that the hooks to the passenger side valve cover then to the hose and runs back to the carb/air cleaner. What is this actually for and could I just used a breather in that position? My engine is a 350 and will be using the Edelbrock performer rpm intake with the summit 650 CFM carb with electric choke and vacuum Secondaries. Again excuse my ignorance. I am still pretty new to working on older vehicles. Here is a pic.
Thanks!
Attached Images

03BlkZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 11:21 AM   #2
sick472

Re: Flame arrestor at passenger side valve cover

The flame arrestor is usually abandoned when most redo the engine bay. The breather spacer, on the other hand, may come in handy to get the air cleaner to clear the carb workings (depending on your parts combo). I still use the spacer with a single snorkel air cleaner and an Edelbrock carb.

1972 C10
1976 C10 (parts truck)
1985 K20
sick472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 11:40 AM   #3
03BlkZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by sick472 View Post
The flame arrestor is usually abandoned when most redo the engine bay. The breather spacer, on the other hand, may come in handy to get the air cleaner to clear the carb workings (depending on your parts combo). I still use the spacer with a single snorkel air cleaner and an Edelbrock carb.