The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-29-2022, 09:39 AM   #1
no1udknow

low oil pressure after DOD/AFM delete

Hey guys, I have an 07 avalanche with a 5.3. I recently put in a AMS racing DOD delete kit in. Stock lm7 cam, lifters, valley plate etc. Now I have low oil pressure. Just under 40psi starting cold, but after running a bit drops to about 22psi. I don't want to damage the engine, looking for suggestions. it is a 2wd so I was thinking of dropping the pan to check the pickup o-ring, but I was reading about some bypass also. I'm an experienced mechanic (motorcycles and heavy equipment) but I just havent dug into LS engines yet.
My build : 68 C10 Short Bed Conversion
no1udknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 08:41 PM   #2
LS short box

Re: low oil pressure after DOD/AFM delete

Not an expert LS guy but if you used the stock valley plate could you be losing oil around the 'oil towers" in the block.
I haven't done a DOD block but I believe you either have to plug the block DOD towers or use a non DOD Gen 4 valley cover that had the o-rings in the valley cover.
LS short box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 09:00 PM   #3
garyd1961

22 psi at idle is a plenty, not going to hurt anything
garyd1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2022, 04:46 PM   #4
LS short box

The LS6 in my 98 Wrangler runs about 25 psi at idle when warm. I run 10-30 Mobil 1. Been 15 years like that with no issues.
LS short box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2022, 12:39 PM   #5
biketopia