The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-22-2021, 10:31 PM   #1
hogfarm

Worst paint job ever

I have been working on my 58 fleetside for about 2 years, got the frame done motor and transmission, as well as the 4 link in the rear. I took my sheet metal to the paint shop, for the repairs and paint. There were a couple patch panels needed.Well I got the cab back,it looked ok. so I set in on the frame and got glass installed.Went to put the doors on and they will not fit,and they will never fit unless the door post are moved. It upset me so I decided I need to start over. And told the guy I was coming to get the rest of my sheet metal. I had spent hours on the bed,and it was pretty straight, but not when I went to pick it up. Someone had backed in to the bed and put a big dent in the side. He told me that is the way I brought it to him. So after $5000.00 I have nothing. I don't know what to do, but decided to take the stroker motor out of the 58 and put it in my 54, just to run it. After all that work I don't even know if I want to start over , or just cut my loss and sell it
hogfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 10:38 PM   #2
mongocanfly
Post Whore

Re: Worst paint job ever

Dang ....that sucks....

RIP Dad
RIP Jesse

1981 C30 LQ9 NV4500..http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=753598
Mongos AD- LS3 TR6060...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...34#post8522334
Columbus..the 1957 IH 4x4...http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...63#post8082563
2023 Chevy Z71..daily driver
mongocanfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 10:52 PM   #3
dsraven

did the doors fit before the paint gut got it? bad patch panel install?