The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-02-2016, 07:10 PM   #1
CapnCrunch

If you like puzzles. . .

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie to the thread, but have been on the site for information before. I'm always amazed with how helpful everyone can be in this community.

So, now that my mechanical knowledge has met its match on my 69 C10, I'm coming to you in humility.

I'm a child of fuel injection, born in 1991 and learning auto repair in 2010. I was a Chevy tech, but you can imagine we didn't do too much service on carbureted trucks.

I wanted a project and a steal of a deal for my 69 longbed came along. I bought the truck running, sort of, and quickly had to repair some wonky and sloppy work here and there.

After a brand new points ignition from the dizzy all the way to the plugs, a new gas tank and new filter she was running great for ~1 month.

Oddly though, with the timing mark reading something like 50* BTDC. Made no sense, but I didn't question too much.

And then one day. . .

She started sputtering, choking, and died on the way home from work in front of McDonalds. Did the basic carb checks and after an hour called AAA and had her hauled home.

It's a 350, stock as can be. 4bbl Rochester rebuilt in march of this year by UREMCO.

Now I figured with that rusty gas tank and rusty filter there stood a chance that the carb had developed a fault in the six months since its rebuild. So I got the kit, took it all apart and followed the setup instructions to the letter.

Then I went in and replaced the timing chain, making sure cam and crank were all lined up and happy with #1 at TDC on compression.

And made sure my coil and dizzy were still doing their jobs.