The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-09-2010, 07:27 PM   #1
gopokes

Project “Learning as I Go”

Let me start off by saying that I am new to the truck restoration business. I grew up farming so I did work on cars and trucks but just to keep them running, not to make them look nice. That’s why I say I’m learning as I go. I do want to say a HUGE thanks you to everyone on this site. I have learned so much just by reading everything possible on here. My wife actually gives me a hard time because I spend so much time on this website. I feel like it is really cheap knowledge. Anyway, I bought my truck off a guy here in Oklahoma City last February. It was a running and driving truck so I was happy, even happier because I got it for 800 bucks. So what I have is a 1971 longbed, 307 engine, with 3 on the tree which I love, haven’t been around one of these since my granddad’s 60-66 Chevy (not sure the exact year). The guy I bought it from said he was the second owner, not sure if I believe him or not but who knows. When I got it home I did the basics, changed the oil, filters, pugs, wires etc. Then after that I just enjoyed driving it and didn’t do much to it. So far I have added a junkyard sway bar, added some “cheap security” flashing led on the dash (thanks BobbyK for the FAQ!), tinted the windows for a little more security since it sits in the street most of the time, new tires were a b-day present, and bought a few other things I will get into later. For the most part she sits pretty much the same as when I got her. I don’t have much of a budget for this project so it’s going to be little bits at a time. At some point I will be cutting her down to a s